Afghanistan vs Sri Lanka:

Defeating Sri Lanka by 32 runs (Duckworth-Lewis method), Afghanistan qualified for the quarter-final. Despite losing as early wicket, Ibrahim Zadran (86), Ikram Ali Khil (55), Darwish Rasooli (63) shone to provide Afghanistan with a competitive score of 284 for 7. Thisaru Rahsmika and Nipun Malinga bagged a couple of wickets each to emerge as the pick of the bowlers for Sri Lanka.

Rain interrupted the match for quite some time and the reduced target was 235 from 38 overs. However, Afghanistan’s bowling was better. Naveen-ul-Haq led the attack with his 4 for 35 while Azmatullah Omarzai and Qais Ahmad bagged two wickets each. Jehan Daniel top scored with a 48 as Sri Lanka were bundled for 202 in 37.3 overs.

Brief scores:

Afghanistan U19 284 for 7 in 50 overs (Ibrahim Zadran 86, Ikram Ali Khil 55, Darwish Rasooli 63; Thisaru Rahsmika 2 for 64, Nipun Malinga 2 for 56) won against Sri Lanka U19 202 in 37.3 overs (Krishan Arachchige 41, Jehan Daniel 48, Asen Bandara 38; Naveen-ul-Haq 4 for 35, Azmatullah Omarzai 2 for 37, Quais Ahmad 2 for 37)

New Zealand vs Kenya:

Jakob Bhula’s record-breaking innings of 180 paired with Rachin Ravindra (117) handed New Zealand a comprehensive 243-run victory in the second match. The openers notched up a gigantic partnership and the bowlers then followed the performance with a commendable bowling performance to restrict opponents Kenya at 194 for 4. Bhula’s 180 is now the highest individual total in Under-19 ODIs and the batsman stole the show entirely, later being adjudged the Player of the Match.

Brief scores:

New Zealand U19 436 for 4 in 50 overs (Jakob Bhula 180, Rachin Ravindra 117, Finn Allen 90; Jasraj Kundi 1 for 82, Sukhdeep Singh 1 for 29) won against Kenya U19 194 for 4 in 50 overs (Aman Gandhi 63, Aveet Desai 28, Thomas Ochieng 39*; Rachin Ravindra 2 for 33, Sandeep Patel 1 for 13) by 243 runs

Australia vs Zimbabwe:

Australia posted thrashed Zimbabwe to register their first victory in the tournament. Winning the toss, Australia put Zimbabwe to bat. Xavier Bartlett led the bowling attack with his 3 for 20 and helped his side bowl out Zimbabwe for 134. Robert Chimhinya was the highest scorer of the side with his 27.

Australia lost only 3 wickets in the chase to get to the runs in 18.2 overs. Both openers approached aggressively; Max Bryant scored 44 off 27 while Jack Edwards got 40 off 20. Though Zimbabwe bowlers tasted some success, they failed to defend the low total.

Brief scores:

Zimbabwe U19 134 in 33.2 overs (Jayden Schadendorf 16, Milton Shumba 16, Robert Chimhinya 27, Tinashe Nenhunzi 16; Xavier Bartlett 3 for 20, Will Sutherland 2 for 21, Llyod Pope 2 for 31) lost to Australia U19 135 for 3 in 18.2 overs (Max Bryant 44, Jack Edwards 40; Liam Roche 1 for 14, Wesley Madhevere 1 for 15) by 7 wickets

South Africa vs West Indies:

South Africa outwitted West Indies with all-round performance, registering their consecutive win in the tournament. Despite a slow start, a steady knock of run-a-ball 99 from Wandile Makwetu and a 18-ball 29 from Gerald Coetzee took their team’s score to 282 for 8 at the end of innings. Jiveshan Pillay was given a controversial obstructing the field dismissal during the innings. The entire West Indies bowling contingent put forward team effort to restrict the runrate till the mid overs but South Africa increased it post the 40th over.

West Indies’ batting could not match that of South Africa’s. Coetzee looked accurate and in control of his impressive pace, bagging 2 wickets while Hermann Rolfes was the pick of the bowlers with his 4 for 33. They bowled out West Indies for 206 and won the match by 76 runs, with 27 balls to spare. Though all eyes were on Makhaya Ntini’s son Tendo, he could not put forward any extraordinary show, bagging just one wicket with an economy of 6.50.

Brief scores:

South Africa U19 282 for 8 in 50 overs (Jiveshan Pillay 47, Wandile Makwetu 99*, Gerald Coetzee 29; Jarion Hoyte 1 for 36, Jeavor Royal 1 for 34) won against West Indies U19 206 in 45.3 overs (Alick Athanaze 76, Kirstan Kallicharan 44; Gerald Coetzee 2 for 21, Hermann Rolfes 4 for 33, Jade de Klerk 2 for 40) by 76 runs