Lasith Malinga’s injury could keep him out of the ICC World Cup 2015 © Getty Images

Jan 7, 2015

Sri Lanka have announced their 15-man squad for the ICC World Cup 2015. The team will be lead by Angelo Mathews and Lahiru Thirimanne will be his deputy. Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene will play in perhaps not only be their last World Cup but their last One-day International (ODI) series. Jayawardene had retired from Tests in 2014 and played his last One-Day International (ODI) at home against England in December 2014. The other batsmen, Dinesh Chandimal Tillakaratne Dilshan and Dimuth Karunaratne, who is playing his first World Cup.

No major surprises in the bowling department with Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dhammika Prasad,  Rangana Herath, Sachitra Senanayake and Thisara Perera, who is also a hard-hitting batsman. Jeevan Mendis has been included as he adds an extra spin option. Although Lasith Malinga has been included in the squad, his participation will be confirmed only is he’s declared fit ahead of the mega event. If Malinga is not fit, the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) can replace him with any other player on stating medical reasons. Malinga is however confident of playing the second half of the seven-match series against New Zealand starting from January 11.

Sri Lanka will be looking to acclimatise themselves as they play a huge chunk of matches of the ICC World Cup 2015 in New Zealand.

Full squad:

Angelo Mathews (c), Lahiru Thirimanne, Kumar Sangakkara Mahela Jayawardene, Dinesh Chandimal, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Dimuth Karunaratne, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dhammika Prasad, Rangana Herath, Sachitra Senanayake Thisara Perera, Jeevan Mendis,  Lasith Malinga (subject to fitness)