ICC World T20 2012: Bangladesh elect to bowl against New Zealand

Bangladesh are sprightly mixes which lost one and won one practice game heading into the big event AFP

By CricketCountry Staff

Colombo: Sep 21, 2012

Bangladesh captain Mushfiqur Rahim won the toss and elected to bowl first against New Zealand in the fifth match of the T20 World Cup on Friday.

Two giant-killers who have a reputation of disturbing set calculations will be up against each other when New Zealand and Bangladesh clash in their opening Group D match of the World Twenty20 on Friday.

Both Bangladesh and New Zealand are known to raise the bar when it comes to performing at major ICC events and it would be interesting to see which of the two manages to go a notch higher in the one-on-one battle.

New Zealand’s build up to the event has been far from ideal as three of their key players, including inspirational former skipper Daniel Vettori and pacer Tim Southee, have been laid low by gastroenteritis.

The Kiwis’ warm-up campaign was also disappointing as they lost both their matches. It has been a far from ideal stay in the island nation so far for them but New Zealand’s cricketers are well known for fighting through the odds and put up creditable performances.

Led by an in-form and explosive Ross Taylor, the Kiwis seem a decent Twenty20 side with hard-hitting stars such Brendon McCullum and veteran all-rounder Jacob Oram.

Bangladesh, on the other hand, are sprightly mixes which lost one and won one practice game heading into the big event.

Most of the team’s players are in their early 20s and what could work to their advantage is the comfort of the playing in home-like conditions.


Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Mohammad Ashraful, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (c & wk), Mahmudullah, Nasir Hossain, Ziaur Rahman, Mashrafe Mortaza, Elias Sunny, Abdur Razzak, Shafiul Islam

New Zealand: Rob Nicol, Martin Guptill, Brendon McCullum (wk), Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor (c), Jacob Oram, James Franklin, Daniel Vettori, Nathan McCullum, Tim Southee, Kyle Mills

Click here for the live scorecard & ball-by-ball commentary of today s T20 match

Points Table

ICC Twenty20 World Cup 2012: Match time table with group details