ICC World T20 2012: South Africa's struggle continues against Pakistan spinners at Colombo

JP Duminy in action during his innings of 29 Getty Images

By CricketCountry Staff

Colombo: Sep 28, 2012

Mohammad Hafeez led Pakistan s bowling attack with two wickets as they restricted South South Africa to 83 for four in 15 overs, in their ICC World T20 Super Eights clash at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on Friday.

South Africa made a disastrous start in the match, losing the top order cheaply against a disciplined spin attack of the Asian side.

South Africa s star batsman Hashim Amla got a lifeline in the very first over of the innings when Pakistan wicketkeeper Kamran Akmal missed a catch and a stumping change off Raza Hasan.

But Amla s innings came to an end five balls later, when Yasir Arafat had him caught by Shoaib Malik in the second over, for eight.

South Africa were jolted again in the sixth over when Saeed Ajmal dismissed the dangerous Richard Levi for eight.

The African side was left reeling at 28 for three by Pakistan spinner Mohammad Hafeez, who got rid of Jacques Kallis for 12 in the seventh over to put his side on top.

Farhaan Behardien and JP Duminy then joined forces to provide some momentum to their side, but their resistance was ended by Hafeez, who had Behardien stumped by Akmal for 18.

Behardien and Duminy added 38 runs for the fourth wicket.

Duminy was unbeaten on 29, which came off 28 balls, hitting one boundary and a six.

Earlier, South Africa captain AB de Villiers won the toss and elected to bat against Pakistan.

South Africa made one change in their side, bringing in all-rounder Robin Peterson in place of struggling Faf du Plessis.

Pakistan too made one change in their side, dropping left-arm seamer Sohail Tanvir to fit in Raza Hasan.

Brief Scores: South Africa 83 for 4 in 15 overs (JP Duminy 29*, Farhaan Behardien 18, Jacques Kallis 12, Richard Levi 8; Mohammad Hafeez 2 for 23) vs Pakistan

Catch live scores and ball-by-ball commentary of the Pakistan vs South Africa Super Eights’ clash here

Photo Gallery

Super Eight Points Table

ICC Twenty20 World Cup 2012: Match time table with group details