ICC World T20 2016 trophy to embark on global tour

The ICC World T20 2016 trophy will be toured to 12 countries before returning to India.

Related articles

The trophy will leave on a global tour before returning to New Delhi on February 1 © Getty Images (File Photo)
The trophy will leave on a global tour before returning to New Delhi on February 1 © Getty Images (File Photo)

Mumbai: The ICC World Twenty20 2016 trophy will embark on a global journey Sunday before returning to New Delhi on February 1 next year. As part of the Nissan Trophy Tour, the trophy will visit 12 countries taking part in the tournament which will be staged in the country from March 11 to April 3 next. During its journey, the trophy will be on display at domestic and international matches, as well as at various public places which will enable the fans to capture a special moment with the most prestigious silverware in the shortest format of the world game, the ICC said in a statement. ICC World T20 2016: Full schedule and fixtures announced

Details of the trophy’s public appearances will be announced by the host Boards closer to the time. ICC Chief Executive David Richardson said: “The Nissan Trophy Tour has been designed to not only promote the tournament but also to engage with our fans and provide them the first opportunity to get close to the trophy, which will be lifted by the winning captain on 3 April in Mumbai. India-Pakistan ICC World T20 2016 clash confirmed for March 19 at Dharamsala

“We would like to thank Nissan for their sponsorship of the Trophy Tour and we are sure it will be a big success as it travels across the world ahead of the ICC World Twenty20 in India next year,” he said. Scotland will be the trophy’s first port of call, before it travels to Ireland, England and the Netherlands at part of its European leg. ICC World T20 2016 Round 1 schedule: Match time table and ground details

The trophy’s African safari will be from January 2-7, during which it will make appearances in Harare (January 2 & 3 and Cape Town January 5-7). Pakistan will be the trophy’s first stop-over in the subcontinent (January 11 & 12), before it moves to Bangladesh (January 14 &15) and then Sri Lanka (January 17 & 18).

On the Trans-Tasman tour, the trophy will arrive in Wellington on January 21 and will then head to Australia on January 26 where it will be displayed in Adelaide, Melbourne and Sydney until January 31. From Sydney, the trophy will return to New Delhi on February 1 and will then start its domestic tour by making appearances at each of the venues that will host the ICC World Twenty20 India 2016 matches.

Apart from the 10 Test playing countries, Afghanistan, Hong Kong, Ireland, Netherlands, Scotland and Oman will participate in the men’s event of the tournament. The women’s competition, which will run alongside the men’s event, will be competed between Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, South Africa and West Indies.

trending this week