India A win toss, elect to bat against Australia

Gautam Gambhir will look to score runs and make his way back into the Indian Test side © Getty Images (Representation Pic)

Chennai: Feb 16, 2013

Gautam Gambhir won the toss and decided to bat first against Australia in the warm-up match at Chennai on Saturday.

This game will be the dress rehersal for the Australian fast bowlers who will be expected to get used to the pitch and weather conditions in Chennai.

For the Indians, a lot of players will look to perform and prove a point through this game and look to gain a spot in the national side.

Australia, in the absence of Michael Clarke, will be lead by Shane Watson while India A has Gambhir at the helm.


India A : Gautam Gambhir (c), Jiwanjot Singh, Rohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary, Rakesh Dhruv, Jalaj Saxena, CM Gautam (wk), Abhishek Nayar, Dhawal Kulkarni, MS Gony, Vinay Kumar
Australia: Shane Watson (c), Ed Cowan, Matthew Wade (wk), Phil Hughes, Usman Khawaja, Xavier Doherty, Mitchell Starc, Peter Siddle, Nathan Lyon, Moises Henriques, Ashton Agar