India squad announced for tri-series in West Indies

India’s form in the ongoing ICC Champions Tropy put chances of any change in the current side out of question © Getty Images

Mumbai: Jun 17, 2013

India named an unchanged squad for the triangular series to be played in the West Indies from June 28 – July 7, 2013, on Monday. The third team of the tri-series is Sri Lanka.

The series will have seven matches, which will be played in Antigua, Jamaica and Trinidad.

With the Indian team performing brilliantly in the ongoing Champions Trophy where they have qualified for the semi-finals with an all-win record in the group league stages, any changes in the current team was simply out of question.

Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir and Yuvraj Singh miss the bus again but Murali Vijay has managed to keep his place in the squad.

The selection panel had named 21 probable for the tri-series in the Caribbean in May, as six players who were overlooked for the tri-series are Manoj Tiwary, Praveen Kumar, Mohammed Shami Ahmed, Ambati Rayudu, Rahul Sharma and Gautam Gambhir.

Meanwhile, former India captains Anil Kumble and Krishnamachari Srikkanth have expressed their vote of confidence for India to clinch the ICC Champions Trophy 2013.


MS Dhoni (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Dinesh Karthik, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Irfan Pathan, Amit Mishra, Vinay Kumar.

(With inputs from PTI)