Vijay Shankar    AFP
Vijay Shankar picked 2 wickets AFP

Bangladesh s batting never got off the block against India in the second T20I of Nidahas Trophy 2018. Only Liton Das and Sabbir Rahman stood tall in their opponent s defiance. Vijay Shankar and Yuzvendra Chahal squeezed life out of them in the middle overs before Jaydev Unadkat strangulated the lower order with their bowling. All Bangladesh managed was 139 for 8.

Bangladesh came out in an aggressive mood, but lost early wickets. Undakat cut Soumya Sarkar s innings short. Trying to hit over mid-on, Soumya could not clear the fielder. He fell for 19. Liton joined forces with Tamim Iqbal, who was playing quite cautiously till then.

Tamim was saved by a DRS review after the on-field umpire gave him out against Shardul Thakur. Riding his luck, Tamim struck a couple of boundaries against Thakur before holing out to Unadkat at short fine-leg for 19.

Mushfiqur Rahim came out and chanced his bat against Chahal to success, hitting him for back-to-back fours. Liton was lucky to be dropped by Suresh Raina and Washington Sundar in the same over of Vijay Shankar.

Liton and Mushfiqur added 31 for the third wicket before Vijay Shankar claimed the latter s. It was his maiden wicket, and he owes it to Dinesh Karthik s swiftness.

Liton continued to milk Indians for runs despite wickets falling from the other end. Skipper Mahmudullah became Vijay Shankar s second scalp.

Chahal came back for his final spell and got rid of the dangerous-looking Liton, caught at long-off for 34. Mehedi Hasan came out at No. 6 and fell for 2, to Unadkat.

Sabbir kept the scoreboard ticking with the odd boundary. He eventually fell for a 25-ball 30 to Unadkat. Rubel Hossain was run out for 0, a dubious decision.

Brief scores:

Bangladesh 139 for 8 (Liton Das 34, Sabbir Rahman 30 ; Jaydev Unadkat 3 for 38 ) vs India.