Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal shared 6 wickets among themselves  © AFP
Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal shared 6 wickets among themselves © AFP

India whitewashed Ireland with their biggest ever win, by 143 runs, in the second T20I at Malahide. The Irish batting line-up collapsed against the Indian bowling attack, for 70. The Indian spinners, Yuzvendra Chahal (3 for 21) and Kuldeep Yadav (3 for 16), shared 6 wickets on Friday after sharing 7 the previous day after comeback man Umesh Yadav and debutant Siddarth Kaul struck early.

Umesh struck gold on the second ball of the innings, dismissing Paul Stirling for a duck. Stirling edged to Suresh Raina at second slip. William Porterfield hit a massive six off Umesh but was clean bowled next ball, trying to shuffle across. Kaul took his maiden wicket, that too of James Shannon, top-scorer in the last match, with a well-directed short ball. Shannon lobbed to KL Rahul at extra cover.

Chahal came to bowl inside the Powerplay and bowled Andrew Balbirnie for 9. Kevin O’Brien, who picked 3 wickets earlier in the day, recorded a duck. He edged Hardik Pandya, and Kuldeep took a low catch at third man. Half the Ireland side was back in the pavilion for 32.

Simi Singh came in next, and was lucky to get away with an edge off the first ball and survived a leg-before appeal next ball. Then Kuldeep got rid of Gary Wilson (15) and George Dockrell (4) in the next 2 overs.

Ireland were 8 down and had no answer to the spinners whatsoever. Chahal bowled Stuart Thompson for 13. With the last wicket standing it was just a matter of time for India to wrap things off. Kuldeep took only 3 bowls to finish things. Boyd Rankin, who had smashed a six off Kuldeep in the previous over, walked down the pitch and missed the ball completely as Dinesh Karthik did the formalities behind the stumps.

Earlier, India posted a mammoth total of 213 for 4. This was the first time India posted 200 in consecutive T20Is. Rahul (70) and Raina (69) added 106 to the third wicket partnership while Pandya blasted 32 not out in 9 balls.

Brief Scores

India 213 in 20 overs [KL Rahul 70(36), Suresh Raina 69(45), Hardik Pandya 32(9); Kevin O’Brien 4-0-40-3] beat Ireland 70 in 12.3 overs [Gary Wilson 15(18); Yuzvendra Chahal 4-0-21-3, Kuldeep Yadav 2.3-0-16-3] by 143 runs.

Man of the Match: KL Rahul.
Man of the Series: Yuzvendra Chahal.