Ashish Nehra    Getty Images
Ashish Nehra Getty Images

After earning the No.1 spot in Tests and ODIs, India are set for T20I expedition against Australia. BCCI announced the 15-member squad for the 3-match T20I series. One of the noticeable names in the squad is that of veteran Ashish Nehra. The pacer was last seen in blues against England in the 3-match T20I series early this year. However, India have left out Mohammed Shami and Umesh Yadav amongst the pacers. Nehra will be ably supported by Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah and Hardik Pandya. The troika – Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav and Akshar Patel will carry the responsibility of the spin department.

The 38-year-old has featured in 17 Tests, 120 ODIs and 26 T20s for India. Nehra has produced some great performances and has taken both success and failure in his stride. He was aiming for a spot in Champions Trophy. However, a hamstring injury that he picked during IPL kept him away from the tournament.

As for the batting front, Shikhar Dhawan returns to the squad after missing out the ODI series due to his wife’s surgery. Meanwhile, Ajinkya Rahane who anchored the innings with Rohit Sharma in the ODIs has been left out. Dinesh Karthik who was instrumental in lifting Duleep Trophy title has also earned a spot. Apart from captaining the India Red side he also showed his potential with the bat. Karthik scored 2 centuries and a fifty during the tournament.

In the only T20I against West Indies, Karthik was instrumental with his quick-fire 29-ball 48. He was the highest scorer in the side, albeit for a losing cause.

India T20I squad: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Akshar Patel.