India ranked No.5 in T20; Raina, Harbhajan and Yuvraj feature in top 10

India batsman Suresh Raina is ranked sixth in the new ICC T20 rankings Getty Images

By CricketCountry Staff

Dubai: Oct 24, 2011

The Indian cricket team have been ranked No.5 in the inaugural International Cricket Council (ICC) Twenty20 rankings released on Monday.

England tops the table with 127 points closely followed by Sri Lanka, South Africa and New Zealand.

The rankings do not affect the draw for the 2012 edition of the ICC World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka as the groups have already been announced.

In the individual rankings only Suresh Raina (5) features in the top 10 list of batsmen. Harbhajan Singh (9) is the leading ranked Indian bowler.

Yuvraj Singh is ranked No.6 among the all-rounders.

The No.1 batsman, bowler and all-rounder on the rankings respectively are Eoin Morgan of England, Ajantha Mendis of Sri Lanka and Shane Watson of Australia.

ICC Twenty20 Championship table:

1. England 127

2. Sri Lanka 126

3. New Zealand 117

4. South Africa 113

5. India 112

6. Australia 111

7. Pakistan 97

8. West Indies 89

9. Afghanistan 75

10. Zimbabwe 54

Note: Bangladesh, Netherlands, Kenya, Ireland, Canada and Scotland will have to play eight T20Is before they will have a ranking. The table reflects all T20Is played since August 2009.

ICC Batsmen’s ranking

1. Eoin Morgan (ENG)

2. Brendon McCullum (NZ)

3. Kevin Pietersen (ENG)

4. Mahela Jayawardene (SL)

5. Suresh Raina (IND)

6. Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL)

7. Kumar Sangakkara (SL)

8. Umar Akmal (PAK)

9. Shane Watson (AUS)

10. Graeme Smith (SA)

ICC Bowler’s ranking

1. Ajantha Mendis (SL)

2. Graeme Swann (ENG)

3. Saeed Ajmal (PAK)

4. Nathan McCullum (NZ)

5. Johan Botha (SA)

6. Shahid Afridi (PAK)

7. Shaun Tait (AUS)

8. Darren Sammy (WI)

9. Harbhajan Singh (IND)

10. Lasith Malinga (SL)

ICC All-rounders ranking

1. Shane Watson (AUS)

2. Shahid Afridi (PAK)

3. David Hussey (AUS)

4. Mohammad Hafeez (PAK)

5. Chris Gayle (WI)

6. Yuvraj Singh (IND)

7. Jacques Kallis (SA)

8. Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL)

9. Albie Morkel (SA)

10. Abdul Razzaq (PAK)