India register 8th victory in 10 Test matches over Australia at home

Mohali: Mar 18, 2013

India’s victory at Mohali in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy was the home side’s 8th win in 10 Tests against the visitors at home since their last defeat in Nagpur in 2004, the other two being draws.

It is also the first time in 25 years that Australia have lost the first three matches of a series. Allan Border‘s side lost 3-1 at home to the West Indies in 1988-89.

The visitors have also failed to win even a single Test in India since their 342-run triumph in Nagpur. The 2008-09 and 2010-11 series Australia lost 2-0 each. On the other hand, India have won each of their last six home Tests against Australia.

India’s six-wicket victory here also means that for the first time India have won three Tests in a series since Mohammad Azharuddin led his team against Sri Lanka in 1993-94.

If India beat Australia in the fourth and final Test in Delhi, starting Friday, it would become only the third time that the visitors have been whitewashed in a series of three or more matches. The other two were South Africa in 1969-70 and Pakistan in 1982-83.

India have now won their last three Tests against Australia in Mohali. Their only loss at the venue was in 1994 when the West Indies won by 243 runs.