India have not won a Test series since November 2013 © Getty Images
India have not won a Test series since November 2013 © Getty Images

Despite their poor run in Test cricket in the last one year or so, India have managed to climb to the fourth spot in the ICC Test Rankings released on Monday, May 11, 2015. READ: India-Pakistan set to resume cricketing ties beginning with a series in December 2015

India last won a Test series more than and a half years ago, against the West Indies in November 2013, which was the farewell series of their legendary cricketer Sachin Tendulkar. This was also the last Test series which India played at home, and since then, they have been on road.

India toured New Zealand and 0-1, then went to South Africa for a two-Test series which they lost to the hosts 0-1. In mid 2014, England hosted India for a marathon five-Test series, which India lost 3-1, despite taking a lead in with their historic win at Lord’s.

India then went to Australia, the toughest of them all, where they were far more improved than their last three tours. India showed tremendous character and intent, but could not avoid a 0-2 defeat in four Tests, and lost the Border-Gavaskar Trophy to the hosts. This was the last Test series for Mahendra Singh Dhoni after the third Test.

Here’s the list of the top 10 Test teams as per the International Cricket Council:

Rank Team
1 South Africa
2 Australia
3 New Zealand
4 India
5 England
6 Pakistan
7 Sri Lanka
8 West Indies
9 Bangladesh
10 Zimbabwe

England, who are coming off a drawn three-Test series against the West Indies, have slipped to the fifth spot. Pakistan, who bounced back in their two-match Test series in Bangladesh, have also slipped to the sixth position in the ICC Test Rankings. READ: India retain 2nd spot in ICC ODI Team Rankings

South Africa continue to be the No. 1 Test side, followed by Australia and New Zealand at the second and third spots respectively. South Africa will be playing Test cricket in July, wherein they will be touring Bangladesh for a two-Test series.

Australia will be heading to the West Indies for The Frank Worrell Tropy, which will be of two Tests. The second-ranked team will then head to England, for The Ashes 2015.