India's 15-member squad departs for Zimbabwe

Virat Kohli (above) will lead India as selectors decided to rest MS Dhoni © Getty Images

Mumbai: Jul 21, 2013 

A 15-member India cricket squad, led by Virat Kohli, left this morning for Zimbabwe to take on the hosts in a five-game One-Day International series commencing on July 24.

The squad is without inspirational captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni who has been given a break by the national selectors.

The selectors have also rested three pace bowlers — Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Umesh Yadav — along with spinner Ravichandran Ashwin.

India are visiting the African nation after three years. In June 2010, an India team led by Suresh Raina took part in a triangular ODI series in Zimbabwe but came a cropper, failing to reach the final.

India made amends when they blanked Zimbabwe 2-0 in the Twenty20 series held immediately after the conclusion of the tri-series final won by Lanka.

Apart from Raina, Kohli was also part of that squad as vice-captain and it included Ravindra Jadeja, Dinesh Karthik, Rohit Sharma and Vinay Kumar who are members of the current touring team.

India squad for Zimbabwe tour:

Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik, Cheteshwar Pujara, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Parvez Rasool, Mohammed Shami, Vinay Kumar, Jaidev Unadkat and Mohit Sharma.

ODI series schedule:

Jul 24: 1st ODI Harare Sports Club, Harare

Jul 26: 2nd ODI Harare Sports Club, Harare

Jul 28: 3rd ODI Harare Sports Club, Harare

Jul 31: 4th ODI Queens Sports Club, Bulawayo

Aug 3: 5th ODI Queens Sports Club, Bulawayo.