India to renew rivalry with West Indies and Sri Lanka in Tri-Nation Series

India last played West Indies in November 2011 © AFP

St. John’s (Antigua): Dec 21, 2012

The West Indies and Sri Lanka will renew their rivalry then they face each other in a limited overs Tri-Nation Series next year, that also involves powerhouse India.

The tournament, which runs from June 28 to July 11, will be hosted in Jamaica and Trinidad and Tobago.

The West Indies were originally scheduled to host Sri Lanka in two Tests, three One-Day Internationals and two Twenty20 Internationals but the tour has now been deferred to allow players from both teams to participate in the Indian Premier League.

While the Tests have been put back, the one-dayers will be absorbed in the Tri-Nation Series.

The West Indies will open the tournament with a clash with India at Sabina Park June 28 and two days later face Sri Lanka, who they beat in the final of the World T20 Championship last October.

Three matches will be played at Sabina Park while four matches, including the final, will be staged at Queen’s Park Oval.

The final will be contested by the two teams with the most points after the six preliminary round matches.

For the West Indies, the Tri-Nations is part of a busy 2013 schedule which also sees Zimbabwe touring the Caribbean for two Tests, three ODIs and two Twenty20s, and Pakistan arriving for a limited overs series.