India vs Australia, 1st Test: For the second time in 2018, Virat Kohli wins an away toss
Tim Paine flipped, Virat Kohli called correctly and chose to bat. (Image: BCCI)

Virat Kohli got the Test series between  India and Australia underway on a good note, winning the toss on Thursday morning at Adelaide Oval.

This made it just the second time in nine away Test matches in 2018 that Kohli won a toss. For the record, India have never lost a Test in which Kohli has won the toss.

LIVE UPDATES: India vs Australia, 1st Test, Adelaide

The last time Kohli won a toss before today was the third Test against South Africa in Johannesburg in January, the dead rubber Test which India won. On seven other occasions this year, Kohli lost the toss: at Cape Town, Centurion, Edgbaston, Lord’s, Trent Bridge, Southampton and The Oval.

ALSO READ: India play Rohit Sharma, opt to bat at Adelaide Oval

India won just one of those Tests – the third at Trent Bridge during the 1-4 series loss in England.

India opted for Rohit Sharma over Hanuma Vihari at No 6 for the first Test in Adelaide.

India XI: 1 Murali Vijay, 2 KL Rahul, 3 Cheteshwar Pujara, 4 Virat Kohli (capt), 5 Ajinkya Rahane, 6 Rohit Sharma, 7 Rishabh Pant (wk), 8 R Ashwin, 9 Mohammed Shami, 10 Ishant Sharma, 11 Jasprit Bumrah

Australia XI: 1 Marcus Harris, 2 Aaron Finch, 3 Usman Khawaja, 4 Shaun Marsh, 5 Travis Head, 6 Peter Handscomb, 7 Tim Paine (capt/wk), 8 Josh Hazlewood, 9 Pat Cummins, 10 Nathan Lyon, 11 Mitchell Starc