Virat Kohli-led Team India will take on Australia in four Tests scheduled to be played between February 23 and March 29 Getty Images

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has finally announced the tour schedule for one of the biggest series Team India plays this home season. Australia, who are scheduled to tour India early next year for four Tests, will be made to play at India s newest Test venues in three of the four Tests while one will be played at Bengaluru. The tour opener will be played at the MCA Stadium in Pune from February 23 to 27. The second Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy will be played from March 4 to 8 at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

The third Test will be played at India s limited-overs skipper MS Dhoni s hometown Ranchi between March 16-20 while the fourth and the final Test of the series, which will also conclude India s 13-Test-long home season, will be played at the picturesque location of Dharamsala from March 25 to 29. The Indian board had earlier named six new Test centers in the country as a part of its policy to take Test cricket to smaller cities and getting back the spectators for the longest format to the ground. Indore, Visakhapatnam, Pune, Rajkot, Dharamsala and Ranchi were announced as the new Test venues under the policy.

While Indore recently hosted its maiden Test between India and New Zealand quite successfully, the expectations for a greater crowd response at smaller centres have only gone up. Rajkot will host the first India England Test, which will be its maiden Test, from November 9, while Visakhapatnam wil host the second Test of the same series from November 17.

Tour Schedule:

Match Date Venue

1st Test

Feb 23-27


2nd Test

Mar 04-08


3rd Test

Mar 16-20


4th Test

Mar 25-29





The remaining three new venues, as mentioned before, will make their Test debuts during the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.