India named their 13-member squad for the second Test against Australia in Perth, with offspinner R Ashwin and lower-middle order batsman Rohit Sharma ruled out due to injuries. Prithvi Shaw is still unavailable for selection.

ALSO READ: Australia set to unleash bounciest pitch at Perth s Optus Stadium

Hanuma Vihari and Ravindra Jadeja have been added to the 13-member squad in place of Rohit and Ashwin.

ALSO READ: How many overseas Test series have India won?

Shaw is still recovering from his left ankle injury he picked up during the practice game in Sydney.

Ashwin has a left-sided abdominal strain while Rohit jarred his lower back while fielding in the 1st Test at Adelaide, both are undergoing treatment.

“The team management is closely monitoring these players and a call on their availability for the third Test will be taken at an appropriate time,” a BCCI release stated.

Ashwin’s unavailability is a big loss as he had taken a six-wicket haul at Adelaide to help India record their first win in a series opener in Australia.

Rohit, who made a Test comeback at the Adelaide Oval, was expected to retain his place in the eleven after scores of 37 and 1.

With the trio unavailable for selection, India included Vihari, Jadeja, Umesh Yadav and Bhuvneshwar Kumar in the 13-member squad.

ALSO READ: Is this India s best fast bowling attack of all time?

Squad for 2nd Test: Virat Kohli (C), M Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (VC), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav