This was Warner first ODI hundred on Indian soil    AFP
This was Warner first ODI hundred on Indian soil AFP

David Warner scored a stunning hundred in his 100th ODI, during the limited-overs series between India and Australia. He became the first Australian, and eighth overall to attain this feat. India, however, conceded a hundred for the third time in an opponent’s 100th appearance in ODIs, the first two being Chris Cairns and Ramnaresh Sarwan. Here is the list:

Player Runs Team Opposition
Gordon Greenidge 102* West Indies v Pakistan
Chris Cairns 115 New Zealand v India
Yousuf Youhana 129 Pakistan v Sri Lanka
Kumar Sangakkar 101 Sri Lanka v Australia
Chris Gayle 132* West Indies v England
Marcus Trescothick 100* England v Bangladesh
Ramnaresh Sarwan 115* West Indies v India
David Warner 124 Australia v India

This was Warner s 14th ODI hundred and first on Indian soil. In all he averages 45 against them, a run more than his overall average.

Warner reached the milestone with a scythe past backward-point. And as always, he celebrated it with a punch in the air, later raising his bat to acknowledge the crowd.

The last time he scored a hundred against India was at Sydney in 2016. However, his stellar performance went in vain as India chased down 331 with 2 balls to spare, courtesy Manish Pandey 104*.