With the wicket of England skipper Joe Root on day three of the 1st India vs England Test at Edgbaston on Friday, Ravichandran Ashwin picked up his 200th Test wicket under the captaincy of Virat Kohli.


This makes the off spinner first Indian bowler to the landmark under one particular captain. He also finds himself alongside Australia s Shane Warne as the second quickest to the milestone in 34 matches. Warne also had achieved his 200th wicket under Ricky Ponting in 34 matches.

Fewest Tests taken to 200 wickets under a captain:

Matches Bowlers Captains
30 Muttaiah Muralitharan Sanath Jayasuriya
34 Shane Warne Ricky Ponting
34 R Ashwin Virat Kohli
40 Malcolm Marshall Viv Richards
40 Allan Donald Hansie Cronje
40 Dale Steyn Graeme Smith

INDIA vs ENGLAND 2018 schedule and results page

The record is however held by Muttiah Muralitharan who raced to 200 wickets under Sanath Jayasuriya in just 30 matches.

Malcolm Marshall under Viv Richards, Allan Donald under Hansie Cronje and Dale Steyn under Graeme Smith also reached 200 wickets in their 40th match for their respective teams.

For India, after Ashwin, Anil Kumble had the most Test wickets under one captain – 179 under Mohammad Azharuddin in 36 matches followed by Harbhajan Singh with 177 scalps under Sourav Ganguly in 37 matches. Next is Kapil Dev with 172 wickets under matches. Kumble under Ganguly also had 167 wickets in 31 matches.

Indian bowlers with most wickets under one captain

Wickets Bowlers Captains Matches
200* R Ashwin Virat Kohli 34
179 Anil Kumble Mohd Azharuddin 36
177 Harbhajan Singh Sourav Ganguly 37
172 Kapil Dev Sunil Gavaskar 45
167 Anil Kumble Sourav Ganguly 31