Joe Root and Virat Kohli
England won the toss for the third straight time in the series (File Photo)

England captain Joe Root won the toss and elected to bowl first in the third Test against India at Trent Bridge, Nottingham on Saturday.

As announced earlier, England have included allrounder Ben Stokes at the expense of Sam Curran while India have made three changes from the Lord s Test.

Delhi wicket-keeper batsman Rishabh Pant was has been handed a Test debut, and will replace Dinesh Karthik behind the stumps. After registering a pair at Lord s opener Murali Vijay is dropped and in comes Shikhar Dhawan.

Jasprit Bumrah is fit and he replaces wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav. The weather for the five days at Trent Bridge is positive with no rain forecast. You can follow all the live match updates with the CricketCountry’s live blog

For everything related the the 3rd Test match, stay tuned to our Trent Bridge Test Match Centre.


India (Playing XI): Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant(w), Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah

England (Playing XI): Alastair Cook, Keaton Jennings, Joe Root(c), Ollie Pope, Jonny Bairstow(w), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Chris Woakes, Adil Rashid, Stuart Broad, James Anderson