The India vs England five-Test series begins today. It promises to be a hotly contested affair with the no. 1 ranked India aiming to bury the demons of its 1-3 defeat in 2014. The series also offers India captain Virat Kohli a chance to improve his record in Test cricket on English soil.

The first match starts from August 1 at Edgbaston followed by Tests at Lord’s, Trent Bridge, The Rose Bowl and Kennington Oval.

India had just one tour match to prepare for the high-profile series when they faced Essex last week. The three-day affair petered out into a draw during the third session of the final day when rain forced an early end. India, who batted first, were all out for 395 with Murali Vijay, Kohli, KL Rahul and Dinesh Karthik scoring half-centuries each. In reply, Essex declared their innings on 359/7, handing India 36-run lead. In reply India were 89/2 in 21.2 overs when the match ended.

Shikhar Dhawan failed to open his account in both the innings while Cheteshwar Pujara too failed to impress. Among the Indian bowlers, Umesh Yadav was the top performer with figures of 4/35 followed by workhorse Ishant Sharma who took three wickets.

Here’s the full schedule of India vs England Test series :-

1st Test – Aug 1, Wednesday Aug 05, Sunday [Edgbaston, 3:30pm IST]

2nd Test – Aug 9, Thursday – Aug 13, Monday [Lord’s, 3:30pm IST]

3rd Test – Aug 18, Saturday – Aug 22, Wednesday [Trent Bridge, 3:30pm IST]

4th Test – Aug 30, Thursday – Sept 3, Monday [The Rose Bowl, 3:30pm IST]

5th Test – Sept 7, Friday – Sept 11, Tuesday [Kennigton Oval, 3:30pm IST]


India [For the first three Tests]: Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Dinesh Karthik, Kuldeep Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Umesh Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Karun Nair, Rishabh Pant, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami

England [Only for the first Test]: Joe Root (captain), Alastair Cook, Keaton Jennings, Dawid Malan, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes, Moeen Ali, Jos Buttler, Adil Rashid, Sam Curran, Stuart Broad, James Anderson, James Porter