1st ODI: New Zealand bat, Santner returns; India recall Kuldeep and Rayudu
Sunny conditions greeted the captains at the toss. (Image: @BLACKCAPS)

New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson had no second thoughts when opting to bat in the opening ODI against India in Napier, with a hard batting strip and sunny conditions encouraging him to have a go at the opposition bowlers.

Virat Kohli called heads and lost, and now the Blackcaps have a great advantage to press for a big total in what promises to be a very engaging series.

New Zealand handed Mitchell Santner his first ODI since March 2018, and also brought in Doug Bracewell. That means no Ish Sodhi.

India made two changes: Kuldeep Yadav replaced Ravindra Jadeja and Ambati Rayudu came back in for Dinesh Karthik.


New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (capt), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Tom Latham (wk), Mitchell Santner, Doug Bracewell, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult

India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (capt), MS Dhoni (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Ambati Rayudu, Vijay Shankar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami