Kumar Sangakkara © AFP
Kumar Sangakkara © AFP


Apr 6, 2014


Sri Lanka are at 98 for four after 15 overs against India in the ICC World T20 2014 final at Dhaka on April 6. Kumar Sangakkara is batting on 32 and Thisara Perera is on nine. Lahiru Thirimanne was the fourth batsman dismissed for seven. He edged one from Amit Mishra to MS Dhoni behind the wickets. Suresh Raina bowled out his four overs for 24 runs and took one wicket.


Thisara Perera slammed one from Amit Mishra high over long-on for a six. Sangakkara then swept a leg side delivery for a four behind square on the leg side. Kusal Perera was the first wicket to fall for five runs in the second over. He top-edged a pull off Mohit Sharma and Ravindra Jadeja took the catch at mid-off. Dilshan was the second wicket to fall as he pulled one from Ravichandran Ashwin towards deep mid-wicket. Virat Kohli took the catch. He was out for 18. Mahela Jayawardene was the third wicket to fall as he slog-swept one from Suresh Raina to Ravichandran Ashwin at short mid-wicket. Jayawardene was dismissed for 24.


Earlier, Sri Lanka captain Lasith Malinga won the toss and elected to bowl. There was one change for Sri Lanka from the team that beat West Indies in the semi-final. Thisara Perera came in for Seekkuge Prasanna. India went in with an unchanged XI that beat South Africa in their semi-final.


India could only manage a modest total of 130 for four in their 20 overs. Virat Kohli starred with a magnificent 77 off 58 deliveries. He struck five fours and four sixes. Rohit Sharma scored 29 runs off 26 deliveries. But apart from that there was not much to boast about in the Indian innings. Yuvraj Singh was in horrible form as he scored 11 off 21 deliveries. Angelo Mathews, Rangana Herath and Nuwan Kulasekara took one wicket each.


Catch live updates of the final between India and Sri Lanka here


Catch live scorecard and ball-by-ball commentary for the India vs Sri Lanka match here


ICC World T20 2014 schedule: Match time table with venue details