Kumar Sangakkara © Getty Images
Kumar Sangakkara © Getty Images


Apr 6, 2014


India are trying to put pressure on Sri Lanka with some good fielding and tight bowling in their ICC World T20 2014 final at Dhaka. Sri Lanka were 47 for two after eight overs, and need another 84 runs to win from 12 overs.


Amit Mishra came on to bowl the seventh over of the innings and gave away only one run in it. In the next over, bowled by Suresh Raina, there was a close chance as Kumar Sangakkara got a lifeline as the ball fell short of Mohit Sharma who came running in from mid-on.


Earlier, Sri Lanka captain Lasith Malinga won the toss and elected to bowl. There was one change for Sri Lanka from the team that beat West Indies in the semi-final. Thisara Perera came in for Seekkuge Prasanna. India went in with an unchanged XI that beat South Africa in their semi-final.


India could only manage a modest total of 130 for four in their 20 overs. Virat Kohli starred with a magnificent 77 off 58 deliveries. He struck five fours and four sixes. Rohit Sharma scored 29 runs off 26 deliveries. But apart from that there was not much to boast about in the Indian innings. Yuvraj Singh was in horrible form as he scored 11 off 21 deliveries. Angelo Mathews, Rangana Herath and Nuwan Kulasekara took one wicket each.


Catch live updates of the final between India and Sri Lanka here


Catch live scorecard and ball-by-ball commentary for the India vs Sri Lanka match here


ICC World T20 2014 schedule: Match time table with venue details