MS Dhoni will want his boys to forget about their first loss of the tour and learn from their mistakes when they take the field in the 2nd T20 © AFP
MS Dhoni will want his boys to forget about their first loss of the tour and learn from their mistakes when they take the field in the 2nd T20 © AFP

The second Twenty20 International (T20I) between India and Zimbabwe will be played at Harare Sports Club, Harare. Minnows, Zimbabwe, have changed their fortunes in the shortest format of the game by winning their second consecutive (2015) and first T20 of this series by a whisker of 2 runs. Chasing a competitive total of 171 in 20 overs, all Indian batsmen got starts but still failed to get past the hosts’ total when they required only 8 runs off 6 balls (courtesy an excellent last over by Neville Madziva) with their skipper, MS Dhoni at strike. Team India will be wanting to stage a comeback before it is too late for them and return to winning ways in a format where they have excelled in the past few months. Full Cricket Scorecard: Zimbabwe vs India, 2nd T20, at Harare

By dominating the One-Day International (ODI) series and whitewashing the hosts 3-0, India hardly had to sweat it out in the park before the first T20I. Winning the toss, MS Dhoni again decided to bowl first to exploit the conditions for the bowlers at the start of the proceedings. His bowlers were not up to the mark as Jaydev Unadkat, Rishi Dhawan and Jasprit Bumrah (in the end) were among runs as India conceded 60 in the last 5 overs. To add to their misery, in-form batsman, KL Rahul went for a first-ball duck. Rest all other players came in and threw their wickets at important junctures to put the brakes on the run-scoring. ALSO READ: ZIM keep Dhoni’s last ball heroics at bay to beat IND by 2 runs

Zimbabwe started off their innings well as Hamilton Masakadza looked good but it was Elton Chigumbura’s quick 50 and late outburst that made all the difference in the match. In all likelihood, Zimbabwe will definitely not like to stop from now on, as put forward by their skipper, Graeme Cremer. They should stick to the same Playing XI until an injury creeps up. The boys will be rearing to make it 2-0 after a confidence-boosting victory over former T20 champions.

India, on the other hand, will like to make some changes in their Playing XI which featured five debutants in the T20 opener. Rishi Dhawan had an awful day and may make a spot open for someone else. Ambati Rayudu may still be given a chance as he knows a lot about the conditions and is always consistent against Zimbabwe but his slowness at the top-order may hurt the team. PHOTO: Virat Kohli’s answer to MS Dhoni dinner selfie

It will be interesting to see what changes Dhoni makes to his side. He may call his wicket-taking bowlers from the ODI series, such as, Dhawal Kulkarni and Barinder Sran. Whether Jayant Yadav gets a game or not still looks bleak. The conditions will remain pretty much the same with some lateral movement at the start of the match and then easing out for the batsmen as the match will proceed.

Predictions and Preview: India will like to square the series otherwise it may be another unfortunate series loss to a relatively weaker side after 2015’s bilateral ODI series loss against Bangladesh. It is hard to pick a favorite as of now but Zimbabwe have the momentum and confidence after the last game. They definitely have their nose ahead but the format is such that it may shift in India’s hand soon.


Zimbabwe: Graeme Cremer (c), Brian Chari, Tendai Chatara, Chamu Chibhabha, Elton Chigumbura, Neville Madziva, Timycen Maruma, Hamilton Masakadza, Wellington Masakadza, Peter Moor, Tapiwa Mufudza, Tinotenda Mutombodzi, Richmond Mutumbami (wk), Taurai Muzarabani, Vusimuzi Sibanda, Sikandar Raza, Donald Tiripano, Malcolm Waller

India: MS Dhoni (c & wk), Lokesh Rahul, Faiz Fazal, Manish Pandey, Karun Nair, Ambati Rayudu, Rishi Dhawan, Akshar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jasprit Bumrah, Barinder Sran, Mandeep Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Jaydev Unadkat, Yuzvendra Chahal

Time: 16:30 IST | 11:00 GMT

(Aditya Sahay is a journalist with CricketCountry who is completely into sports and loves writing about cricket in general. He can be followed on Twitter at adisahay7)