India bounced back from 1-0 down in the the T20 seriesagainst Zimbabwe to make it 1-1 © AFP
India bounced back from 1-0 down in the the T20 series against Zimbabwe to make it 1-1 © AFP

India and Zimbabwe will go on to play the decider of the Twenty20 International (T20I) series at Harare on Wednesday. The three-match series which is level at 1-1. India lost the closely-contested first game at the same venue by 2 runs and then came back in the second to seal a win by a massive margin of 10 wickets. The third game will also be the last match of the one month tour that India was on. With everything to play for and the series up for grabs, the final T20 promises to be full of thrills and spills. Will the young Indian side, under MS Dhoni, stage a comeback to win back-to-back series in Zimbabwe, or will the home side come out to surprise the visitors and give their fans a reason to enjoy? FULL CRICKET SCORECARD: India  vs  Zimbabwe , 3rd T20I Match at Harare

Zimbabwe, after the first T20I win, should have capitalized on the start and come hard at the Men in Blue in the second match. But that did not happen. Graeme Cremer‘s side didn’t even turn up for the game. They were outclassed by the Indian bowlers when they came out to bat and agonizingly managed a score of 99 for 9. Perhaps, after losing 4 wickets in the first PowerPlay itself, they were always on the back foot. A target of 100 would never have been enough against a team that had already shown their batting potential in the three-match ODI series prior to this. With almost 7 overs to spare, Zimbabwe were handed a 10-wicket loss by Dhoni and his men. ALSO READ: India vs Zimbabwe 2016, 2nd T20I: MS Dhoni credits win to bowlers

India would have been happy after seeing their bowlers perform, in a game that was important for them to survive in the series. Barinder Sran‘s figures of 4 for 10 and Jasprit Bumrah‘s 3 for 11 reiterated the fact that India’s bowling department certainly has a good future ahead. Dhoni correctly credited the bowlers for the win in the post-match interview. He would have been more than pleased to see them excel. He also recently spoke that he doesn’t mind winning games easily. And therefore, he and his team would be looking to again put in a complete performance in the final T20I.

Predictions: While, India might be favorites to win the series, one can certainly expect that Zimbabwe will come back fighting. Makhaya Ntini’s men cannot be underestimated at any cost. Nor can Zimbabwe play ordinary cricket. If they stage a win somehow, it will be another bombshell of a result in an year which has already seen underdogs fly high.


Zimbabwe: Graeme Cremer (c), Brian Chari, Tendai Chatara, Chamu Chibhabha, Elton Chigumbura, Neville Madziva, Timycen Maruma, Hamilton Masakadza, Wellington Masakadza, Peter Moor, Tapiwa Mufudza, Tinotenda Mutombodzi, Richmond Mutumbami (wk), Taurai Muzarabani, Vusimuzi Sibanda, Sikandar Raza, Donald Tiripano, Malcolm Waller

India: MS Dhoni (c & wk), Lokesh Rahul, Faiz Fazal, Manish Pandey, Karun Nair, Ambati Rayudu, Rishi Dhawan, Akshar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jasprit Bumrah, Barinder Sran, Mandeep Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Jaydev Unadkat, Yuzvendra Chahal

Time: 16:30 IST | 11:00 GMT

(Karan Dewana reporter with CricketCountry, loves following and playing sports. He is a Team India fan and loves winning. Follow him on his twitter handle @karan13dewan)