India win toss, ask Australia to bat in the opening T20 match

India would look to have a change in fortune in the T20s after a dismal performance in the recently-concluded Test series Getty Images

By CricketCountry Staff

Sydney: Feb 1, 2012

Indian captain MS Dhoni has won the toss and elected to bowl first in the first Twenty20 match at Sydney.

The Indians slumped to their lowest ebb in the longer version of the last week when Australia mauled the visitors by a 4-0 margin in the Test series.

The drubbing at the hands of Australia was also the current ODI world champion team’s eight straight overseas Test defeat following the series loss by identical margin in England last year.

But with some fresh legs — Suresh Raina, Manoj Tiwary, Praveen Kumar, Irfan Pathan, Parthiv Patel, Ravidra Jadeja and Rahul Sharma — joining the team for the limited overs matches, Mahendra Singh Dhoni would be hoping for lady luck to smile on him in the first of the two T20 matches ahead of the tri-series, featuring hosts Australia and Sri Lanka.


India : Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni (c&wk), Zaheer Khan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Praveen Kumar, Umesh Yadav.

Australia : George Bailey (c), David Warner, Daniel Christian, Aaron Finch, David Hussey, Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Wade (wk), Shaun Marsh, Brad Hogg, Brett Lee, Clint McKay.

Catch the live score of the first T20 match between India and Australia here