India win toss, elect to bowl against New Zealand XI in warm-up match at Whangarei
India will look to win the warm-up match ahead of Test series after losing the ODI series 0-4 © Getty Images


Feb 2, 2014


India won the toss elected to bowl in the warm-up match against New Zealand XI at Whangarei on Sunday.


Rohit Sharma will lead the side in absence of regular skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni. Vice-captain Virat Kohli isn’t part of the playing XI too.


Ishwar Pandey makes it to the team. Ambati Rayudu and Wriddhiman Saha has also been included. Saha is the wicketkeeper.


Dhoni‘s men would be aiming to put that behind them when they begin the Test leg of the tour. The Test series starts from February 6.


It is a quiet town, much like Napier where the ODI leg started two weeks ago.


The tour started without much fan-fare allowing the Indian team nearly five days of practice, and while they made good use of the facilities provided there, it didn’t really show up on the field in the ensuing contests.


Whangarei is similarly quiet and perhaps the team could do with some introspection, away from the spotlight. It is a parallel reflection from the South African tour previously, wherein the Indian team had also lost the ODI series, riddled with short bowling and inadequate application from both batsmen and bowlers.


The big difference is that their practice game on that tour was washed out due to unseasonal rains and wet outfield.




New Zealand XI: George Worker, Robbie O’Donnell, Anton Devcich (c), Jono Hickey, Shawn Hicks, Henry Walsh, Tim Seifert (wk), Jono Boult, Roald Badenhorst, Ili Tugaga, Iain McPeake, Tipene Friday.


India: Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Amabti Rayudu, Ravichandran Ashwin, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Zaheer Khan, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishwar Pandey.