India win toss, elect to bowl first at Lord's

England captain Andrew Strauss (fourth from left) and India skipper MS Dhoni during the toss Getty Images

By CricketCountry Staff

London: Jul 21, 2011

Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to field in their first of the four-match Test series against England at Lord’s. Overcast conditions following light rain appear to have dictated India’s choice who are fielding three medium pacers, including returning pace spearhead Zaheer Khan.

Yuvraj Singh missed out of the playing eleven with Suresh Raina, who led the Indian side in the West Indies Test series, was included.

England left out Tim Bresnan from their playing eleven, and like India, are also fielding four frontline bowlers.

The historic match is the 100th Test between the two countries and the 2000th in the cricket annals.

Indian batting batting maestro Sachin Tendulkar is coming into the match with just one century short of 100 international tons.

Duncan Fletcher also became the coach with most number of Tests at the helm of affairs of a national team with 100 matches under his belt.


England: Andrew Strauss (c), Alastair Cook, Jonathan Trott, Kevin Pietersen, Ian Bell, Eoin Morgan, Matt Prior (wk), Graeme Swann, James Anderson, Chris Tremlett, Stuart Broad.

India: Gautam Gambhir, Abhinav Mukund, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (c&wk), Harbhajan Singh, Praveen Kumar, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma.

Full Scorecard