India win toss, opt to bat against West Indies in second Test

India captain MS Dhoni (L) chats with coach Duncan Fletcher ahead of their second Test against the West Indies at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata Getty Images

By CricketCountry Staff

Kolkata: Nov 14, 2011

India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to bat against West Indies in their second Test match at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Monday.

India lead the three-match Test series 1-0 after winning the first Test at the Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium in New Delhi by five wickets.

India have rertained the same squad for the second Test, whereas West Indies will be missing their pace spearhead Ravi Rampaul, who is in hospital due to stomach upset.

Also, for the West Indies, Adrian Barath will make a comeback in place of Kieran Powell.


West Indies: Kraigg Brathwaite, Adrian Barath, Kirk Edwards, Darren Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Marlon Samuels, Carlton Baugh (wk), Darren Sammy (c), Kemar Roach, Fidel Edwards, Devendra Bishoo.

India: Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (c&wk), R Ashwin, Pragyan Ojha, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav.