David Warner, Steven Smith, Indian T20 League
David Warner led the Hyderabad side to title in 2016 © AFP

The exclusion of David Warner  and Steven Smith from Indian T20 league 2018 was a big blow for fans. They were ruled out of the league due to the ball-tampering controversy that took place in the third Test between South Africa  and Australia. Both the players have had big contributions in the league. Warner was the captain of Hyderabad franchise whereas, Smith led Rajasthan.

In the absence of Warner, Kane Williamson will lead the Hyderabad side. Warner who has led the side from 2015 and them the title in 2016 has wished them good luck ahead of their opening game against Rajasthan.

Warner was fifth in the list of leading run scorer in the league. However, we won’t be seeing any typical Warner celebration this year. A Warner-less and Smith-less league will really be a shame. Can Kane Williamson fill the boots of Warner? The match is scheduled to be played at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad. Ajinkya Rahane  will captain the Rajasthan side.