KL Rahul recorded the fastest 50 in Indian T20 League © AFP
KL Rahul recorded the fastest 50 in Indian T20 League © AFP

Punjab won the second match of Indian T20 League against Delhi by 6 wickets in the 19th over. KL Rahul gave a power start to the second innings as he recorded the fastest 50 in the league history going past Sunil Narine and Yusuf Pathan. He reached the landmark in 14 balls scoring at a strike rate of 340.

Rahul and Mayank Agarwal opened the batting for Punjab chasing 167. Both the batsmen were dismissed inside the first Powerplay but the score was 73 already. Yuvraj Singh, who came to bat at number three got off the mark with a boundary. However, he was struggling to get the ball away as he got out on 12 (22) when he hit the ball straight to Vijay Shankar off Rahul Tewatia’s bowling.  

However there was no stopping to the run flow after the wicket of Rahul as Karun Nair scored a quickfire 50 off 33 before getting out in the 15th over. The Delhi bowlers did well to pull things back in the middle overs but failed to create pressure. David Miller  held one end almost scoring run a ball 24 with only one boundary. Marcus Stoinis hit the winning runs for Punjab handing Delhi their sixth consecutive loss in their opening match of the league.

Previously in the match, Gautam Gambhir  with his 36th half century guided Delhi to a competitive total. Rishabh Pant(28) and Chris Morris(27*) also added valuable contribution to the score. Meanwhile, Mujeeb Zadran became the youngest player to play Indian T20 league and even the youngest to take wicket. He and Mohit Sharma shared two wickets each.

Brief Scores

Delhi 166 for 7 in 20 overs ( Gautam Gambhir 55, Rishabh Pant 28, Chris Morris 27*; Mujeeb Zadran 4-0-28-2, Mohit Sharma 4-0-33-2) beat Punjab 167 in 18.5 overs (KL Rahul 51, Karun Nair 50David Miller 24*; Rahul Tewatia 1 for 24) by 6 wickets.

Man of the Match: KL Rahul