IPL 2011 Live Updates: Punjab vs Bangalore

Bangalore lost the big wicket of Chris Gayle early AFP

By CricketCountry Staff

Dharamsala: May 17, 2011

Punjab thumped Bangalore by a huge margin of 111 runs to keep their hopes of reaching play-offs in tact.

Piyush Chawla took four for 17, as Royal Challengers Bangalore were bowled out for 121 in 17 overs.

Piyush Chawla ran through Royal Challengers Bangalore s lower middle-order, scalping three wickets as the Challengers reached 89 for seven at Dharamsala. AB de Villiers was the last man to be dismissed for a well-made 34 off 27 balls.

Bangalore reached 89 for seven in 13 overs, and need a further 144 runs to win from 42 balls with three wickets in hand.

Piyush Chawla claimed his first wicket of the match, having Mohammad Kaif stumped for 15.

Royal challengers Bangalore are stumbling in their chase of 233, having lost four wickets at a paltry score of 55 against Kings XI Punjab.

Ryan Harris rocked Bangalore in the second over, scalping the big wicket of Chris Gayle. Gayle, who is the highest scorer for the Royal Challengers in this edition, didn’t score in the seven balls he faced and looked out of sorts against Praveen Kumar.

Bangalore slipped further when Harris struck once again to remove their captain Virat Kohli for 11.

Shalab Srivastava dealt further blow dismissing Saurabh Tiwary for six, and Paul Valthay dismissed Asad Pathan for seven leaving Bangalore reeling at 43 for four.

AB de Villiers, batting on 14, and Mohammad Kaif look to reconstruct the Bangalore innings.

Earlier, captain Adam Gilchrist slammed 106, studded with nine sixes and eight boundaries to help Kings XI Punjab set a target of 233 against Royal Challengers. Gilchrist and Shaun Marsh added 206 runs for the second wicket. Marsh remained unbeaten on 79 off 49 balls, smashing five sixes and seven boundaries.

Brief Scores: KXIP 232 for 2 in 20 overs (Adam Gilchrist 106, Shaun Marsh 79*; Charl Langeveldt 2 for 48) bt RCB 121 all out in 17 overs (AB de Villiers 34; Piyush Chawla 4 for 17, Ryan Harris 3 for 28, Shalabh Srivastava 2 for 30, Paul Valthaty 1 for 30)