IPL 2011 Live Updates: Punjab vs Deccan

Deccan bastman in action during their IPL match against Punjab AFP

By CricketCountry Staff

Dharamsala: May 21, 2011

Deccan registered a massive 82 run victory over Punjab in their Indian Premier League match at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium in Dharamsala. The host scored 116 in 19 overs.

Amit Mishra fastened the Punjab downfall with a hat-trick, first in IPL 4, when he dismissed Ryan McLaren, Mandeep Singh and Ryan Harris to reduce Punjab to 102 for eight at the end of the 16th over.

Mishra s hattrick came after Pragyan Ojha had removed Abhishek Nayar for three.

Ojha coming back in his second spell, bowled a tight line building the pressure on Nayar finally inducing him to sky one to a fielder at deep-mid wicket.

Earlier, Christian struck twice to send back dangerman Adam Gilchrist and had Dinesh Karthik in the same over. Gilchrist appeared to play the anchor role before he accelerated the scoring. He looked set for a big score after reaching a well made half-century but failed to time one hitting it straight to extra cover boundary.

Gilchrist had got down to counter attack clattering a six and a boundary off Anand Rajan in the fifth over and followed it with a boundary off Pragyan Ojha in the very next over.

Gilchrist was well supported by Dinesh Karthik, who followed his skipper to the pavilion falling to a brilliant catch by Ravi Teja for 11.

The host lost Paul Valthaty and Shaun Marsh in consecutive overs after Marsh had looked to set the stadium ablaze. The Left-hander hammered three boundaries of which two came off JP Duminy. Just when the Aussies looked dangerous, Duminy had him beaten in the flight to have him edge the ball to third man.

Paul Valthat was dismissed by Dale Steyn after he had pounded the South African to point boundary.

Deccan riding on a brilliant 95 form Shikhar Dhawan recorded a 198 for two in their allotted 20 overs.

Brief Scores: DC 198 for 2 in 20 overs (Shikhar Dhawan 95*, Ravi Teja 60; Ryan Harris 1 for 24, Paul Valthaty 1 for 24) vs KXIP 116 allout in 19 overs (Adam Gilchrist 51, Shaun Marsh 13, Paul Valthaty 5; Amit Mishra 4 for 9, Daniel Christian 2 for 21, Dale Steyn 1 for 13, JP Duminy 1 for 23)