IPL 2011 Live Updates: Punjab vs Delhi

Punjab players celebrate the fall of a wicket in their IPL match against Delhi AFP

By CricketCountry Staff

Dharmasala: May 15, 2011

Punjab registered a 29 run win over Delhi to make it three consecutive wins in three matches. Delhi scored 141 for 8 as the host kept taking wickets at regular intervals to have Delhi on the back foot in their IPL match Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association ground in Dharamsala.

Piyush Chawla turned the balance in the favour of host when he had S Sriram for 4 and then struck to dismiss Venugopal Rao for 16 immediately after the mid-innings break. Paul Valthaty came into the attack only to send back Irfan Pathan who tried to up the sagging run-rate. Before that, Srivastava dismissed Naman Ojha for a run-a-ball 28. He then accounted for David Warner, just when the left-hander looked dangerous.

Warner kept the runs coming hitting Paul Valthaty for two boundaries and then smashed Srivatava to deep-square-leg boundary.

Earlier, Naman Ojha smashed Ryan Harris for a boundary to the mid-on in the second over before Praveen Kumar bowled a maiden next over. David Warner took time before he clattered the bowler for six over the fine-leg boundary. Ojha then came down heavily on Shalabh Srivastava hammering him two sixes and a four to yield 17 runs of it.

Punjab scored 170 for 6 on the back of a brilliant half-century from Paul Valthaty.

Brief Scores: KXIP 170 for 6 in 20 overs (Paul Valthaty 62, Shaun Marsh 47, Dinesh Karthik 27; Avishkar Salvi 2 for 40, Irfan Pathan 3 for 28) vs DD 141 for 8 in 20 overs (David Warner 29, Naman Ojha 28, Travis Birt 16; Piyush Chawla 3 for 16, Shalabh Srivastava 2 for 28)