IPL 2012 Live Cricket Score: Delhi Daredevils vs Mumbai Indians T20 match at Delhi

Delhi Daredevils have been pretty consistent until now in their IPL 2012 campaign AFP

By CricketCountry Staff

Delhi: Apr 27, 2012

Delhi Daredevils remain favourites when they take on Mumbai Indians in a return-leg Indian Premier League 2012 (IPL) match on Friday.

With tournament reaching mid-way stage, Virender Sehwag’s men have looked most compact among the nine sides in the fray and the Daredevils will certainly like to consolidate their position as table toppers.

The last time the two teams locked horns at the Wankhede Stadium, Delhi pacers had steamrolled over the ‘Men in Blue’ but that was a match that didn’t feature Sachin Tendulkar.

Both teams had contrasting victories in their previous matches.

While Daredevils romped home courtesy a typical Sehwag innings against Pune Warriors, Mumbai Indians had to depend on Robin Peterson’s innovations and Piyush Chawla’s profligacy to get their campaign back on track.

Even as Tendulkar’s form in the two matches, since his comeback from finger injury, has been reassuring, Mumbai Indians’ bowling is still a cause of worry with no Lasith Malinga to bowl those menacing toe-crushers at the death.

Skipper Harbhajan Singh’s extended ‘wicket-drought’ has also affected the team very badly. The veteran of 98 Tests and 229 ODIs has managed only one wicket in seven games so far.

Worse, Harbhajan has been leaking runs regularly and has not contributed well with the bat.

The Daredevils, on the other hand, have been pretty consistent throughout.

The Daredevils bowlers have done a commendable job save Pune Warriors game when they were taken apart. And with Virender Sehwag, Kevin Pietersen in good form, it would take a special effort from MI to upset the Daredevils applecart.

Among bowlers, Morne Morkel has proved to be an able leader with 16 wickets, while other pacers in Irfan Pathan and Umesh Yadav have bowled well in patches. The revelation, however, has been their young left-arm spinner Shahbaz Nadeem, who has had a brilliant tournament so far.


DD Mahela Jayawardene, Virender Sehwag(c), Kevin Pietersen, Ross Taylor, Naman Ojha(w), Irfan Pathan, Yogesh Nagar, Morne Morkel, Ajit Agarkar, Umesh Yadav, Shahbaz Nadeem

MI Aiden Blizzard, Sachin Tendulkar, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik(w), Kieron Pollard, Ambati Rayudu, Robin Peterson, Harbhajan Singh(c), Lasith Malinga, Rahul Shukla, RP Singh

Catch Live Score and ball-by-ball commentary of the DD vs MI IPL 2012 match here