Bhuvneshwar shines

Bhuneshwar Kumar claimed three early wickets to leave Sunrisers Hyderabad reeling © IANS (FIle photo)

By Devarchit Varma

Pune: Apr 17, 2013

Bhuvneshwar Kumar led an impressive Pune Warriors India bowling performance to restrict the hapless Sunrisers Hyderabad to a paltry total of 119 for eight in the 22nd match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2013 at the Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium on Wednesday.

Pune skipper Angelo Mathews returned to the playing XI after missing out the previous game against Chennai Super Kings. Mathews decided to bowl first, and his bowlers proved the decision right with an impressive show.

Only three Hyderabad batsmen — Parthiv Patel, Biplab Samantray and Amit Mishra — reached double figures as the rest struggled.

Bhuvneshwar and Ashok Dinda kept it tight in the initial overs, giving no room to the Hyderabad openers Parthiv Patel and Quinton de Kock. Dinda reaped success with this strategy on the last ball of the second over when de Kock moved to make room and slashed hard, but the ball went straight to Mitchell Marsh at cover point.

De Kock’s IPL debut lasted eight balls from which he scored two runs.

Bhuvneshwar carried on his good form with the ball, snaffling out two more wickets in the third over to leave Sunrisers reeling. He cleaned up Parthiv with an in-swinger which crashed into the off stump and moved the next delivery into the right-handed stand-in skipper Cameron White to disturb his furniture.

Before his dismissal, Parthiv tried taking the attack to the opposition as he got two boundaries off Bhuvneshwar to give Sunrisers a much-needed momentum.

The Hyderabad top order failed to put up a fight against Bhuvneshwar as he got rid of Hanuma Vihari in his third over of the innings, caught by Aaron Finch at the first slip.

Pune were struggling at 17 for four after five overs. Bhuvneshwar finished with the figures of 4-0-18-3.

The Sunrisers’ condition worsened when Karan Sharma as trapped by Pune spinner Rahul Sharma in the 10th over of the innings, and in the 11th over they lost their star all-rounder Thisara Perera, who fell to Mitchell Marsh, caught behind the wickets by Robin Uthappa for two.

Kumar Sangakkara’s decision to opt out of the match certainly backfired, as they lacked an experienced campaigner in the middle to hold the fort, which they needed the most.

Biplab Samantray’s innings of 37 from as many balls was the only bright spot for the touring side, as none of their batsmen managed to put up a fight against an inspired Pune bowling attack.

Samantray’s resistance was ended by Rahul Sharma, who had him caught by Manish Pandey at the long-off boundary. With Samantray’s fall, Hyderabad’s hopes of a decent first innings were dashed.

Hyderabad batsmen Mishra and Ashish Reddy stitched a crucial 40-run stand for the eighth wicket towards the end, which helped their side to reach 119 for eight from their allotted 20 overs.

For the Warriors, Rahul Sharma claimed two wickets for 21 from his four overs, while Dinda and Marsh bagged a wicket each.

Brief Scores: Sunrisers Hyderabad 119 for 8 in 20 overs (Biplab Samantray 37, Amit Mishra 30; Bhuvneshwar Kumar 3 for 18, Rahul Sharma 2 for 21) vs Pune Warriors India.

Full Scorecard

Photo Gallery

(Devarchit Varma is a cricket fanatic who finds nothing more exciting to do than to write, watch or talk about the sport. Having played the game at club and college level, he now pursues his passion as a scribe)