Mumbai Indians won the IPL 2013 title © IANS
Mumbai Indians won the IPL 2013 title © IANS


Apr 29, 2014


The 2014 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) will see the tournament held in two phases. For the first time, the IPL will be held in two different countries. The first 20 matches of IPL 7 will be held from April 16 till April 30 in the UAE, while the tournament will return to India for its second leg of 40 matches from May 2 till June 1. The final will be held on June 1 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.


For the first time since IPL 2011, the IPL will be played amongst eight teams. Due to legal reasons, the Pune Warriors India (PWI) and the Kochi Tuskers Kerala (KTK) will not be a part of the Indian Premier League in 2014. This year, there was a huge revamp of most of the sides. During the IPL player auctions, each side was allowed to retain a total of five players, while a “right to match” option was made available for the first time. According to this rule, players owned by a franchise would be allowed to match the highest bidder for the player.


Teams like the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and the Rajasthan Royals (RR) retained five players each, while the Delhi Daredevils (DD) chose not to retain any of their players from IPL 6. Kevin Pietersen was bought back by Delhi using the right to match card. The most expensive player at the auction was Yuvraj Singh, who was picked up by the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) for a whopping INR 14 crores.


Mumbai Indians (MI) chose not to retain players like Mitchell Johnson and Glenn Maxwell, both of whom were picked up by the Kings XI Punjab (KXIP). On paper, the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) look like they have a very powerful bowling attack, with names like Dale Steyn, Amit Mishra, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Karn Sharma and Irfan Pathan. The Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) bought back Yusuf Pathan, who did not have a productive season for them last year, via the right to match card. They will continue to be led by Gautam Gambhir, who was their leading run scorer last year.


A team will get two points for winning a match. In the event that a Super Over is not possible, or if a Super Over ends in a tie or a no-result, each team will get one point. Both teams will get one point each in the event of an abandoned game. 0 points for any match lost or forfeited. The team with the highest number of points shall be at the top of the table and the team with the lowest shall be at the bottom. A team’s net run rate is calculated by deducting the average runs per over scored against that team throughout the season from the average runs per over scored by that team throughout the season.


Catch the latest Indian Premier League 2014 Points Table & Team Standings:


Teams Matches Won Lost  Points
Kings XI Punjab 14 11 3 22
Kolkata Knight Riders 14 9 5 18
Chennai Super Kings 14 9 5 18
Mumbai Indians 14 7 7 14
Rajasthan Royals 14 7 7 14
Sunrisers Hyderabad 14 6 8 12
Royal Challengers Bangalore 14 5 9 10
Delhi Daredevils 14 2 12 4


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule: Match time table for IPL 7


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule & Results


Click here for IPL 2014 complete coverage