Dwayne Bravo    IANS
Dwayne Bravo IANS

The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2015 features some of the best bowlers in the world. The cricketing extravaganza has some big names such as Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Lasith Malinga and many more in the format. The eighth edition of IPL began on April 8 with Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) taking on the Mumbai Indians (MI), and the tournament will go on till May 24. READ: IPL 2015 Points Table

Bowling in T20 cricket is never easy, but some of these bowlers have managed to master the art of picking up wickets and containing the flow of runs. With each passing year, the batsmen dominate but the bowlers too find ways to ensure that they do not have the big advantage in all the games. READ: Orange cap holder in IPL 2015

The Purple Cap is up for grabs for the bowlers as the one with the most wickets in the tournament would win the honour. Last year, Chennai Super Kings’ Mohit Sharma got the honour as he finished with the most wickets. The year before that, it was Dwayne Bravo. In 2012, right-arm fast bowler Morne Morkel was the winner of the Purple Cap with 25 wickets. READ: Most dangerous batsmen in IPL

In 2011, Mumbai Indians’ bowler Lasith Malinga claimed 27 wickets to win the Cap, while in 2010 it was Deccan Chargers’ Pragyan Ojha. In the second edition of IPL, i.e. in 2009, Deccan Chargers’ RP Singh was the leading wicket-taker with 23 wickets and in the opening edition of the tournament, Rajasthan Royals’ Sohail Tanvir was the winner of the Purple Cap with 22 wickets in the IPL 2008. READ: Best fielders of IPL 2015

Here is the highest wicket takers of IPL 2015:

Bowler M I O W
Dwayne Bravo 17 16 52.2 26
Lasith Malinga 15 15 60 24
Yuzvendra Chahal 15 14 46.5 23
Ashish Nehra 15 15 58 22
Mitchell Starc 13 12 43 20
Mitchell McClenaghan 12 12 47 18
Bhuvneshwar Kumar 14 14 51.4 18
Harbhajan Singh 15 15 57 18
Harshal Patel 15 14 43.5 17
David Wiese 14 13 42.2 16

This table was updated after the IPL 2015 Final between Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings.