Dinesh Karthik finishes the group stage as the best wicket keeper    IANS
Dinesh Karthik finishes the group stage as the best wicket keeper IANS

The eighth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) will begin from April 8 to May 24 with eight teams vying for the trophy once again. The tournament features some of the best wicketkeepers from the cricket world, and the same would be expected from IPL 8. READ: IPL 2015 Points Table

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and India s One-Day International (ODI) captain MS Dhoni is among the most popular wicketkeepers in the tournament, along with his Indian counterparts such as Dinesh Karthik and Wriddhiman Saha. READ: Highest wicket-takers of IPL 2015

Talking about the performances in the last couple of IPL tournaments, it was Royal Challengers Bangaolore s Parthiv Patel who finished at the top spot in the list of best wicketkeepers in IPL 2014 with 12 scalps in as many matches. READ: Most dangerous batsmen in IPL

In IPL 2013, Dhoni topped the list with 17 dismissals in 18 matches, which included 15 catches and two stumpings. The second in the list was Karthik, playing for Mumbai Indians, with 14 dismissals in 19 matches. READ: Highest Run scorers in IPL 2015

Delhi Daredevils Naman Ojha was the best man behind the wickets in IPL 2012 with 16 scalps in 18 matches in the season. He was followed by Brendon McCullum from Kolkata Knight Riders with 14 dismissals to his credit.

In 2011, Kumar Sangakkara from Deccan Chargers topped the list, while the previous, i.e. in 2010 it was Adam Gilchrist from the same team. Gilchrist was the best wicketkeeper in 2009 as well with 18 dismissals, whereas Mumbai Indians Yogesh Takawale shone behind the wickets in the first edition of IPL in 2008.

Here is list of Most successful wicketkeepers in IPL 2015:

Player Team M Dis Ct St
Dinesh Karthik RCB 16 18 14 4
Wriddhiman Saha KXIP 14 14 11 3
Robin Uthappa KKR 13 12 7 5
MS Dhoni CSK 17 11 8 3
Parthiv Patel MI 14 10 7 2

This table was updated after the IPL 2015 Final between Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings.