Zaheer & Sagarika welcome by DD officials at the franchise's '10 years in IPL' celebration. Photo courtesy DD Twitter
Zaheer & Sagarika welcome by DD officials at the franchise’s ’10 years in IPL’ celebration. Photo courtesy DD Twitter

It is the 10th season of world’s biggest Twenty20 (T20) league and celebrations are obvious. Indian Premier League (IPL) 2017 is currently underway and is into its 10th successful season. 5 of the 8 franchises playing this season, namely Mumbai Indians (MI), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) and Delhi Daredevils (DD) are into their 10th season, having played since the league’s inception. RCB and MI have already celebrated 10 years of their existence in IPL earlier this season. The franchise owners held a gala ceremony to mark the occasion with all their current and previous players marking their attendance.

Recently, Delhi Daredevils became the latest to celebrate the occasion. The franchise posted some photos of the celebration through their official Twitter handle. While skipper Zaheer Khan and fiancée Sagarika Ghatge graced the occasion, other players such as Rishabh Pant and Sanju Samson were also present to celebrate DD’s 10 years in IPL. All the DD players as well as the officials followed a dress code, wearing blue trousers and a white shirt with a sky blue Nehru jacket to complete it. Check the tweet:

Zaheer, who has been leading DD since 2016, recently announced his engagement to actress Sagarika through his social media handles. DD have never reached the finals in IPL’s 10 year-long history. However, they have topped the IPL table twice. This year has not been as fruitful as they would have wanted, as they are languishing at the seventh spot with just 4 wins from 11 games. Mathematically, they still have a chance of making it to the playoffs. For that to happen, though, they will have to win all their games and hope that others in contention lose theirs.