Man of the Match in Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) 18-run win against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), Robin Uthappa, on Saturday came under heavy criticism on social media. Uthappa scored a 39-ball 68 to power Kolkata Knight Riders to a heavy total and, in their reply, the defending champions of the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) 2017, Sunrisers Hyderabad fell short by 18 runs. Uthappa was honoured for his match-winning knock after KKR clinched a victory, but the social media sphere was unsparing on the right-handed batsmen for not producing an example of ‘fair play’ in the first match on Saturday. FULL CRICKET SCORECARD: Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) vs Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) Match 14 at Kolkata

It looked like an umpiring error that provided Uthappa with a lifeline, but it was a legal intervention by the third umpire Abhijit Deshmukh who also checked for the front-foot no-ball as well as whether the ball had struck the batsman s glove or bat. This was done, according to a cricket.com.au report, after the third umpire determining whether the ball had been collected cleanly or not. The replays suggested that the ball had hit Uthappa s pads and not the gloves or bat, which led to the third umpire correctly using the IPL Playing Conditions.

Interestingly, former Australian cricketer Dean Jones and Glenn Maxwell tweeted about the incident. The current Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) captain later on deleted his tweet.

The report added that a new addition to the Playing Conditions for IPL 2017 requires the third umpire to check all aspects of a dismissal when his intervention is sought by the on-field umpires.

According to the Law 3.1(c) of Appendix 6 of the Playing Conditions, “The third umpire has to determine whether the batsman has been caught. However, when reviewing the television replay(s), the third umpire shall first check the fairness of the delivery … Additionally, if it is clear to the third umpire that the batsman is … not out by any mode of dismissal (excluding LBW), he shall notify the on-field umpire so that the correct decision is made.”

The Law 1.5 of Appendix 6 says, “The third umpire shall only have access to TV replays … Other technology which may be in use by the broadcaster for broadcast purposes (Hot Spot, ball tracking, Snicko) shall not be permitted.”

Uthappa also had his slice of luck early in the innings thanks to umpire Anil Dandekar. He was caught behind off the first ball that he faced. After snaffling the wicket of Sunil Narine, SRH pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar got the next ball to move away from Uthappa. The batsman followed the ball and edged behind, but the umpire was unmoved. The decision turned out to be a horrible one for the fielding side. Many felt, Uthappa should have walked back.

The Kolkata Knight Riders batsman went on to play a match-winning knock of 68, studded with 4 sixes and 5 boundaries. Uthappa s innings powered KKR to a formidable 172 for 6 in 20 overs. He added 77 runs for the third wicket with Manish Pandey, who scored 46. In their reply, SRH did not find enough support from the lower order and were restricted to a mere 155 for 6 with David Warner and Yuvraj Singh both scoring 26 each.