IPL 2017 will be held from April 5 to May 21    IANS
IPL 2017 will be held from April 5 to May 21 IANS

The madness of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2017 has already started. The 10th edition is set to begin on April 5 and end on May 21. The tickets will be available at BookMyShow, Eventsnow and Ticketgenie. Mumbai Indians (MI) have already started their ticket sales with the help of their partner JioMoney since March 16. The inaugural match will be played between defending champions Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) and runners-up Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in Hyderabad. This edition will also be the final season for the two new franchises Gujarat Lions (GL) and Rising Pune Supergiants (RPS), making way for banned teams Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) in the next season. IPL 2017 revised Schedule: Fixture, Dates, Match Timings and Venue Details

With IPL gripped between the clash of BCCI and SC, the tournament is expected to see changes in venues. With Dharamsala out of contention, Indore makes its entry as a new venue. The IPL 2017 auction at Bengaluru on February 20 scripted history. England s Ben Stokes was bought for whopping INR 14.5 crores, while Tymal Mills was the other big gainer (INR 12 crores). Associate Nations also had their share of happiness, as Afghanistan s Rashid Khan was bought for INR 4 crores by SRH while Mohammad Nabi made the cut being bought for base price INR 30 lakhs.

There were also notable names that were missed out like Imran Tahir. Irfan Pathan, on the other hand, was ignored twice. Ishant Sharma, in addition, also went unnoticed. There were only 66 players who were sold from pool of 352.

But a number of players have already withdrawn from this edition, starting from Kevin Pietersen and the latest one being JP Duminy.

The other surprise bit was when MS Dhoni was sacked as the RPS captain. Where one expected to see Dhoni don the role of captaincy at least in IPL, it was jolted as soon as the news surfaced. Steven Smith will now lead the new franchise. IPL 2017: Fixtures changed due to Delhi municipal election

The other big news this edition has been the changes in the schedule with the municipal elections around the same time. Delhi Daredevils (DD), MI and RPS matches will see a few changes in their schedule.

As per the current schedule, two matches were slated for the 22nd of April. Delhi Daredevils (DD) against MI at 4pm in Delhi and the RPS against SRH at 8pm in Pune, which have been swapped.

Also the May 6 match between MI and DD that was to be held at Feroz Shah Kotla has now been shifted to Wankhede Stadium, handing MI an extra home match.