IPL 2018 will be held from April 7 to May 27    IANS
IPL 2018 will be held from April 7 to May 27 IANS

IPL 2018 auction was the talk of the town in late January. A total of 169 players were bought and a whopping INR 431.7 crores were spent in two days by eight franchises. The eleventh edition is about to commence, and BCCI has released the itinerary for the entire tournament. Defending champions Mumbai Indians (MI) will square off against Chennai Super Kings (CSK) the yellow brigade’s comeback match after their two-year ban in the tournament-opener on April 7 at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. The playoffs’ venues barring Qualifier 1 aren’t decided as of now. The summit clash will be held in Mumbai on May 27. The opening ceremony will most likely be held at Wankhede.

Delhi Daredevils and Kings XI Punjab will face each other in their first games at Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi. On the other hand, Kolkata Knight Riders will host Royal Challengers Bangalore in both sides’ first encounter of the season. Sunrisers Hyderabad will welcome Rajasthan Royals back into the tournament, hosting them on April 9. Here is the complete schedule.

No. Day Date Time Team 1 Team 2 Ground City
1 Saturday April 7 20:00 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Wankhede Stadium Mumbai
2 Sunday April 8 16:00 Kings XI Punjab Delhi Daredevils IS Bindra Stadium Mohali
3 Sunday April 8 20:00 Kolkata Knight Riders Royal Challengers Bangalore Eden Gardens Kolkata
4 Monday April 9 20:00 Sunrisers Hyderabad Rajasthan Royals Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium Hyderabad
5 Tuesday April 10 20:00 Chennai Super Kings Kolkata Knight Riders MA Chidambaram Stadium Chennai
6 Wednesday April 11 20:00 Rajasthan Royals Delhi Daredevils Sawai Mansingh Stadium Jaipur
7 Thursday April 12 20:00 Sunrisers Hyderabad Mumbai Indians Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium Hyderabad
8 Friday April 13 20:00 Royal Challengers Bangalore Kings XI Punjab M Chinnaswamy Stadium Bengaluru
9 Saturday April 14 16:00 Mumbai Indians Delhi Daredevils Wankhede Stadium Mumbai
10 Saturday April 14 20:00 Kolkata Knight Riders Sunrisers Hyderabad Eden Gardens Kolkata
11 Sunday April 15 16:00 Royal Challengers Bangalore Rajasthan Royals M Chinnaswamy Stadium Bengaluru
12 Sunday April 15 20:00 Kings XI Punjab Chennai Super Kings Holkar Cricket Stadium Indore
13 Monday April 16 20:00 Kolkata Knight Riders Delhi Daredevils Eden Gardens Kolkata
14 Tuesday April 17 20:00 Mumbai Indians Royal Challengers Bangalore Wankhede Stadium Mumbai
15 Wednesday April 18 20:00 Rajasthan Royals Kolkata Knight Riders Sawai Mansingh Stadium Jaipur
16 Thursday April 19 20:00 Kings XI Punjab Sunrisers Hyderabad Holkar Cricket Stadium Indore
17 Friday April 20 20:00 Chennai Super Kings Rajasthan Royals MA Chidambaram Stadium Chennai
18 Saturday April 21 16:00 Kolkata Knight Riders Kings XI Punjab Eden Gardens Kolkata
19 Saturday April 21 20:00 Royal Challengers Bangalore Delhi Daredevils M. Chinnaswamy Stadium Bengaluru
20 Sunday April 22 16:00 Sunrisers Hyderabad Chennai Super Kings Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium Hyderabad
21 Sunday April 22 20:00 Rajasthan Royals Mumbai Indians Sawai Mansingh Stadium Jaipur
22 Monday April 23 20:00 Delhi Daredevils Kings XI Punjab Feroz Shah Kotla Delhi
23 Tuesday April 24 20:00 Mumbai Indians Sunrisers Hyderabad Wankhede Stadium Mumbai
24 Wednesday April 25 20:00 Royal Challengers Bangalore Chennai Super Kings M Chinnaswamy Stadium Bengaluru
25 Thursday April 26 20:00 Sunrisers Hyderabad Kings XI Punjab Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium Hyderabad
26 Friday April 27 20:00 Delhi Daredevils Kolkata Knight Riders Feroz Shah Kotla Ground Delhi
27 Saturday April 28 20:00 Chennai Super Kings Mumbai Indians MA Chidambaram Stadium Chennai
28 Sunday April 29 16:00 Rajasthan Royals Sunrisers Hyderabad Sawai Mansingh Stadium Jaipur
29 Sunday April 29 20:00 Royal Challengers Bangalore Kolkata Knight Riders M Chinnaswamy Stadium Bengaluru
30 Monday April 30 20:00 Chennai Super Kings Delhi Daredevils MA Chidambaram Stadium Chennai
31 Tuesday May 1 20:00 Royal Challengers Bangalore Mumbai Indians M Chinnaswamy Stadium Bengaluru
32 Wednesday May 2 20:00 Delhi Daredevils Rajasthan Royals Feroz Shah Kotla Ground Delhi
33 Thursday May 3 20:00 Kolkata Knight Riders Chennai Super Kings Eden Gardens Kolkata
34 Friday May 4 20:00 Kings XI Punjab Mumbai Indians IS Bindra Stadium Mohali
35 Saturday May 5 16:00 Chennai Super Kings Royal Challengers Bangalore MA Chidambaram Stadium Chennai
36 Saturday May 5 20:00 Sunrisers Hyderabad Delhi Daredevils Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium Hyderabad
37 Sunday May 6 16:00 Mumbai Indians Kolkata Knight Riders Wankhede Stadium Mumbai
38 Sunday May 6 20:00 Kings XI Punjab Rajasthan Royals IS Bindra Stadium Mohali
39 Monday May 7 20:00 Sunrisers Hyderabad Royal Challengers Bangalore Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium Hyderabad
40 Tuesday May 8 20:00 Rajasthan Royals Kings XI Punjab Sawai Mansingh Stadium Jaipur
41 Wednesday May 9 20:00 Kolkata Knight Riders Mumbai Indians Eden Gardens Kolkata
42 Thursday May 10 20:00 Delhi Daredevils Sunrisers Hyderabad Feroz Shah Kotla Ground Delhi
43 Friday May 11 20:00 Rajasthan Royals Chennai Super Kings Sawai Mansingh Stadium Jaipur
44 Saturday May 12 16:00 Kings XI Punjab Kolkata Knight Riders IS Bindra Stadium Mohali
45 Saturday May 12 20:00 Delhi Daredevils Royal Challengers Banglore Feroz Shah Kotla Delhi
46 Sunday May 13 16:00 Chennai Super Kings Sunrisers Hyderabad MA Chidambaram Stadium Chennai
47 Sunday May 13 20:00 Mumbai Indians Rajasthan Royals Wankhede Stadium Mumbai
48 Monday May 14 20:00 Kings XI Punjab Royal Challengers Bangalore IS Bindra Stadium Mohali
49 Tuesday May 15 20:00 Kolkata Knight Riders Rajasthan Royals Eden Gardens Kolkata
50 Wednesday May 16 20:00 Mumbai Indians Kings XI Punjab Wankhede Stadium Mumbai
51 Thursday May 17 20:00 Royal Challengers Bangalore Sunrisers Hyderabad M Chinnaswamy Stadium Bengaluru
52 Friday May 18 20:00 Delhi Daredevils Chennai Super Kings Feroz Shah Kotla Ground Delhi
53 Saturday May 19 16:00 Rajasthan Royals Royal Challengers Bangalore Sawai Mansingh Stadium Jaipur
54 Saturday May 19 20:00 Sunrisers Hyderabad Kolkata Knight Riders Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium Hyderabad
55 Sunday May 20 16:00 Delhi Daredevils Mumbai Indians Feroz Shah Kotla Ground Delhi
56 Sunday May 20 20:00 Chennai Super Kings Kings XI Punjab MA Chidambaram Stadium Chennai
57 Tuesday May 22 20:00 Qualifier 1 Wankhede Stadium Mumbai
58 Wednesday May 23 20:00 Eliminator
59 Friday May 25 20:00 Qualifier 2
60 Sunday May 27 20:00 Final Wankhede Stadium Mumbai

Note: KXIP will play three home games in Indore, and remaining four in Mohali. In addition, this edition will see 12 encounters to start from 4.30PM IST and the other 48 from 8PM.

Playoffs: Qualifier 1 will be held on May 22 in Mumbai, followed by the Eliminator on May 23. Qualifier 2’s date is on May 25, and the edition will be wrapped up on May 27 in Mumbai.

Author’s take: IPL 2018 has already created a lot of hype and buzz, few months ahead of the tournament. With teams’ getting shuffled and revamped, it will be interesting to see which franchise attains the coveted trophy this time around. The tournament-opener, MI versus CSK, will keep the viewers’ engaged since their rivalry is well known. Interestingly, CSK also played their last game versus the same opposition, before missing out the last two seasons due to ban.