Andrew Tye    IANS
Andrew Tye IANS

May 27, 2018, IPL Purple Cap Holder: Just like the batsmen, the bowlers too receive due credit in the form of Purple Cap. The Purple Cap list has seen Sohail Tanvir, RP Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Lasith Malinga, Morne Morkel, Dwayne Bravo (twice), Mohit Sharma and Bhuvneshwar Kumar topping the charts over the years. This VIVO IPL 2018 saw Andrew Tye ending on top (24 scalps). Rashid Khan and Siddarth Kaul narrowed the distance, but ended on 2nd and 3rd spot respectively.

Talking about the finale, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) beat Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) by 8 wickets to lift the title for the third time. Chasing 179, Shane Watson after a slow start shifted gears immaculately to guide his side home courtesy his second ton of the season. This is CSK’s third championship, whereas SRH failed to replicate their 2016 success.

IPL 2018 Purple Cap List Check Out Here

Player Teams M W Ave Econ
Andrew Tye Kings XI Punjab 14 24 18.66 8
Rashid Khan Sunrisers Hyderabad 17 21 21.80 6.73
Siddarth Kaul Sunrisers Hyderabad 17 21 26.04 8.28
Umesh Yadav Royal Challengers Bangalore 14 20 20.90 7.86
Trent Boult Delhi Daredevils 14 18 25.88 8.84

The table was updated after the grand finale between CSK and SRH.