SRH were the first to qualify for IPL playoffs    AFP
SRH were the first to qualify for IPL playoffs AFP

The group stage matches of the 11th season of Indian Premier League (IPL) came to an end with Chennai Super Kings (CSK) beating Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) at the former s alternate home ground, at Pune. It is now time for the much-awaited action-packed Playoffs. The IPL 2018 Playoffs will be played at two venues, Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai and Eden Gardens, Kolkata. The group stages had commenced at Wankhede as well, with defending champions Mumbai Indians taking on CSK on April 7.

The schedule reads:

Qualifier 1 (Wankhede), May 22: Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Chennai Super Kings

Eliminator 1 (Eden Gardens), May 23: Kolkata Knight Riders vs Rajasthan Royals

Qualifier 2 (Eden Gardens), May 25: Loser of Qualifier 1 vs Winner of Eliminator

Final (Wankhede), May 27: Winner of Qualifier 1 vs Winner of Qualifier 2

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) were the first team to book a spot in the Playoffs. With 18 points, they have even secured a place in Qualifier 1. They were soon joined by CSK, while Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) made it on the penultimate night of the group stage. The fourth team to qualify for the playoffs was Rajasthan, who beat Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) at Jaipur on Saturday. However, they had to hope for a Mumbai Indians’ (MI) and Kings XI Punjab defeat. The script for the games on Sunday favoured Rajasthan.