Live Updates

  • 11:37 PM IST

  • 11:35 PM IST

    KL Rahul needed one batsman just one to take KXIP home. He fought very hard with his knock of 95* off 70. He deserved a century here. However, no credit can be taken off RR bowlers. Ish Sodhi could only pick up 1 wicket but he only gave 14 runs off his 4 overs.

  • 11:26 PM IST

    Rahul is not ready to give up but what a bowling performance from Jofra Archer. It is the second last over and he has got his yorker spot on. KXIP need 32 off the last over with Marcus Stoinis on strike.

  • 11:11 PM IST

    The target seems next to impossible from here and both KL Rahul and Marcus Stoinis are not being able to put the ball away. Someone needs to step up from here. Both teams need one over. RR need one tight over whereas KXIP need one big over.

  • 10:56 PM IST

    More than half of the KXIP side is back in the dugout but KL Rahul is still in the middle. Axar had just opened his arms but could not stretch it enough for to get in the crease. KL should swift gears from here.

  • 10:49 PM IST

  • 10:44 PM IST

    KL Rahul is scoring run a ball but he needs to accelerate from here with the required run rate climbing to 11. RR are certainly ahead here with Jofra Archer having 2 overs left and Jaydev Unadkat having 3.

  • 10:21 PM IST

    RR need one more to create more pressure but KL Rahul is in no mood of giving them an easy win. He is continuing with his form and might as well take KXIP home again today.

  • 10:11 PM IST

    Poor start for KXIP. It is strange why Ashwin came one down out of everyone. However, whatever the plan was it has failed big time. Karun Nair soon was done for Archer’s pace as Jaydev Unadkat takes a brilliant catch.

  • 9:39 PM IST

    KXIP need 159 to win. The spinners have done a good job of pulling things back. Buttler started well for RR but did not get going after his 50. Tye bowled a good last over taking 3 wickets and achieving the purple cap.

  • 9:28 PM IST

    OUT! Stuart Binny has been done by some good fielding on the non striker end. Stokes is also finding it hard to keep going now. Will 170 be a good score for RR if they reach there?

  • 9:17 PM IST

    OUT! Mujeeb gets his man. Buttler failed to get going after the powerplay as he wasn’t facing alot of balls as well. Buttler got a lifeline in the last over but falls in the next one. Stokes is also looking good in the middle. He has been joined by Binny.

  • 9:01 PM IST

    A good partnership between Samson and Buttler. Buttler is not finding boundaries for a while now but happy stealing singles and doubles. The spin attack is not working for KXIP, they need to change the strategy now to take a wicket.

  • 8:42 PM IST

    50 for Buttler and it his his third consecutive one. This has happened after he has started to open for RR. He seems very well settled in the middle. Ashwin bowled a tight first over conceding 5 runs.

  • 8:23 PM IST

    Buttler should have opened the innings since the start. However, it is not too late and he is showing why he needs to come early. Surprisingly Ashwin hasn’t bowled till now.

  • 8:12 PM IST

    Jos Buttler and Ajinkya Rahane have opened for RR. This might be the ideal opening pair for them. Buttler is the aggressive one in them while Rahane takes his time. This has worked well for them till now.

  • 7:46 PM IST

    Rajasthan Royals (Playing XI): Jos Buttler(w), Ajinkya Rahane(c), Sanju Samson, Ben Stokes, Stuart Binny, Mahipal Lomror, Jofra Archer, Krishnappa Gowtham, Jaydev Unadkat, Ish Sodhi, Anureet Singh

  • 7:34 PM IST

    Kings XI Punjab (Playing XI): Lokesh Rahul(w), Chris Gayle, Akshdeep Nath, Karun Nair, Axar Patel, Marcus Stoinis, Manoj Tiwary, Ravichandran Ashwin(c), Andrew Tye, Mohit Sharma, Mujeeb Ur Rahman

  • 7:33 PM IST

    RR opt to bat.

Rajasthan have a great record at home but Punjab will definitely start as favourites (Image courtesy: IANS)
Rajasthan have a great record at home but Punjab will definitely start as favourites (Image courtesy: IANS)

Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of Match 40 of VIVO IPL 2018. Rajasthan Royals (RR) host Kings XI Punjab at their den, Sawai Man Singh Stadium, Jaipur. We will be bringing you live updates and interesting stat facts from the crucial match.  RR have a fantastic record at the venue but they have been dismal this season with 3 wins and 6 losses, languishing at the bottom of the points table. In contrast, Punjab seem to have exorcised their past ghosts and have done well this season to be at the No.3 spot.

IPL 2018, RR vs KXIP, Match 40 at Jaipur: Preview, Predictions and Likely XIs
IPL 2018, RR vs KXIP, Match 40 at Jaipur: Preview, Predictions and Likely XIs
On paper, Rajasthan continue to look formidable. A team with Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Jofra Archer and D’Arcy Short deserved a better place in the points table. Hours before the start of the game, Team India announced their squads for Afghanistan Test, England ODIs, England and Ireland T20Is and also India A teams for the UK tour. RR skipper Ajinkya Rahane finds himself leading the Indian Test team that will include his today’s counterpart Ravichandran Ashwin against Afghanistan next month. However, Rahane and Ashwin both find themselves out from India limited-overs setup. Both the players will be equally keen to make a mark Coming back to the game, Rajasthan have nothing to lose. A defeat here will seal their fate. For Punjab, a win will take them another step closer to the Playoffs. To watch out for: Buttler, Stokes, Archer, KL Rahul, Chris Gayle and Andrew Tye Kings XI Punjab Likely XI: KL Rahul (wk), Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Manoj Tiwary, Karun Nair, Akshar Patel, Marcus Stoinis, Ravichandran Ashwin (c), Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Andrew Tye, Ankit Rajpoot Rajasthan Royals Likely XI: D’Arcy Short, Jos Buttler (wk), Sanju Samson, Ajinkya Rahane (c), Ben Stokes, Rahul Tripathi, Stuart Binny, Krishnappa Gowtham, Shreyas Gopal, Jofra Archer, Jaydev Unadkat.