Live Updates

  • 7:27 PM IST

    SRH do it again, they are making a habit in this tournament to defend low totals as they win the game by 11 runs. Shane Warne doesn’t look happy and why would he be. Rahane stayed unbeaten till the end but could not guide the team to victory.

  • 7:18 PM IST

    OUT! One more falls for RR, Lomror goes for 11. The target suddenly seems more for RR now. Rahane still in the middle but on the non strike. Gowtham on strike.

  • 7:12 PM IST

    Rahane could well be the key here. Lomror is finding it difficult to get the ball away. Can Rahane win it for the team? Or Gowtham has another cameo to play?

  • 6:59 PM IST

    OUT! Both Stokes and Buttler have failed to deliver this season. Rahane on the other hand is seem to be enjoying the role of an opener. His stay in the middle will be important. Lomror joins him in the middle.

  • 6:36 PM IST

    OUT! Siddarth Kaul gets the break through. Samson in order to play it over the fielder hit one straight to Alex Hales. RR are 3 down now can SRH pull things off from here? Stokes has joined Rahane in the middle.

  • 6:32 PM IST

    RR are chasing sensibly here. They are well aware that the score is low so not taking their chances against Rashid or Shakib. Can SRH pull it off from here as well?

  • 6:20 PM IST

    Both Sanju Samson and Ajiknya Rahane have denied SRH bowlers any more wickets. Samson in particularly have managed to up the ante and keep the required run-rate under control. SRH will hope that Rashid Khan comes good once again.

  • 6:06 PM IST

    1,000 IPL runs for Sanju Samson playing for RR. Read more here.

  • 5:59 PM IST

    OUT! Sandeep Sharma cleans up Rahul Tripathi. SRH’s bowling has once again come to their rescue. Sanju Samson is out in the middle. Tripathi added just 4 runs.

  • 5:49 PM IST

    Ajinkya Rahane and Ankit Tripathi will open the batting for Rajasthan Royals. Sandeep Sharma will open proceedings for Sunrisers Hyderabad. It should be an easy chase for the home side.

Sanju Samson would be the key batsman for RR © AFP
Sanju Samson would be the key batsman for RR © AFP

Rajasthan Royals (RR) vs Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) Match Updates: Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of VIVO IPL 2018, Match 28. The match will see Ajinkya Rahane’s RR take on Kane Williamson’s SRH at Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur. We will be bringing you the live updates, interesting tweets and stat facts from the cyberspace.

RR are entering the contest after six-day break. Meanwhile, SRH have defended low scores (118 and 132) to earn successive wins. They already boasts of five wins from seven matches and are placed second in the points table. SRH have achieved all this without Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Billy Stanlake in their armoury. With SRH’s bowling looking all complete it is their batting that needs attention. The batting unit needs more aggression. Alex Hales could bring that difference at the top.

RR had defeated Mumbai Indians (MI) in their previous encounter convincingly, courtesy Krishnappa Gowtham’s late heroics. RR was induced with a different power in the previous game with the inclusion of Jofra Archer in the side. Archer scalped 3 crucial wickets in the penultimate over to restrict MI well below 200. Ben Stokes, Archer, Jos Buttler and Heinrich Klaasen can bring their A game in the front for RR against a formidable SRH side.

When it comes to overall record between the sides, it is evenly poised at 4:4. When these sides met earlier this season in Hyderabad, the hosts humbled RR by 9 wickets. Shikhar Dhawan’s unbeaten 78 set the tone.


Rajasthan Royals: Ajinkya Rahane(c), Jos Buttler (wk), Rahul Tripathi, Sanju Samson, Ben Stokes, Heinrich Klaasen, Jofra Archer, Krishnappa Gowtham, Jaydev Unadkat, Dhawal Kulkarni, Shreyas Gopal, Stuart Binny, D Arcy Short, Ankit Sharma, Anureet Singh, Ish Sodhi, Prashant Chopra, Sudhesan Midhun, Ben Laughlin, Mahipal Lomror, Aryaman Birla, Jatin Saxena, Dushmantha Chameera

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Kane Williamson (c), Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Shikhar Dhawan, Manish Pandey, Shakib Al Hasan, Yusuf Pathan, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Basil Thampi, Siddarth Kaul, Sandeep Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Carlos Brathwaite, Ricky Bhui, Deepak Hooda, Alex Hales, T Natarajan, K Khaleel Ahmed, Sachin Baby, Chris Jordan, Tanmay Agarwal, Shreevats Goswami, Bipul Sharma, Mehdi Hasan

Editorial team of CricketCountry.