Live Updates

  • 11:44 PM IST

    RCB register their first win in Vivo IPL 2018. It was de Villiers who played a responsible knock of 54 which insured the win for RCB. The 17th over was bowled by Mujeeb Zadran turned the match in RCB’s way.

  • 11:20 PM IST

    AB de Villiers is on a role here. After a lot of discussion Mujeeb was handed over the ball for the 17th over and he leaks 19 runs off it. Is this a match here? maybe

  • 11:04 PM IST

    100 up for RCB! Ab de Villiers will play an important role here. He is the most experience batsmen left in the side. Mandeep Singh should hold on the other side. Chris Woakes is the next batsman in.

  • 10:42 PM IST

    Ab de Villiers and De Kock have held the crease well. De Kock just survived a LBW review due to umpires call on the impact of the ball. Bangalore need 89 from 66 balls can they chase it down comfortably ?

  • 10:21 PM IST

    OUT! Mujeeb Zadran gets the big fish. It is Virat Kohli who has to depart for 21. Bangalore are two down under Powerplay. It would be interesting how Ab de Villiers plays Mujeeb. Another Afghan player making his mark in IPL.

  • 10:09 PM IST

    Eventful first 10 minutes in the RCB innings. Akshar Patel gets Brendon McCullum for a golden duck. A mis-field gives Kohli a boundary off the first ball. De Kock gets a boundary off the last ball of the first over. Ashwin comes to bowl from the other end. Kohli greets him with a fine late cut for four. De Kock joins the act and produces a glorious cover drive for a boundary.

  • 9:46 PM IST

    OUT! wicket off the second ball of the last over and RCB need 156 to win. Punjab were surely aiming for more when they started. Virat Kohli on the other hand will think he has made a right decision choosing to bowl first. Will it be another match where the chasing team will win or can Ashwin turn around things with his balling and captaincy.

  • 9:44 PM IST

    OUT! Ashwin has done his bit here. He has scored 33 off 21 with 3 fours and 1 six. With last over to go and 1 wicket in hand what will be the final score? Can Punjab manage 170?

  • 9:40 PM IST

    Umesh Yadav’s over changed the game for Bangalore

  • 9:26 PM IST

    Ashwin has hit 2 fours till now, how much more can he score? Tye has come to accompany him in the middle. The star bowler for RCB has been brought back to ball his last over for the day.

  • 9:08 PM IST

    OUT! Khejroliya strikes and it is the well set Karun Nair who has to depart. With the start Punjab got it seemed like we were in for a high scoring match but the Umesh Yadav over and tight bowling from Chahal pulled things back. Punjab are down for 102 already.

  • 8:55 PM IST

    Karun Nair and KL Rahul are playing a responsible innings here. Rahul especially has continued his pace of scoring while Nair is happy to rotate. This is a crucial partnership of Punjab.

  • 8:25 PM IST

    UMESH YADAV GETS 3 IN THE OVER! The first three overs went for 32 for none and then Umesh picks up Mayank, Finch and Yuvraj in the same over. KL Rahul might play a different kind of innings here.

  • 8:20 PM IST

    OUT! Aaron Finch out for a golden duck. Punjab will be regretting not picking up Chris Gayle now. Yuvraj Singh in the middle. How much can he score today?

  • 8:18 PM IST

    What do you think the average in 2018 be like?

  • 8:16 PM IST

    OUT! Mayank Agarwal edges one to de Kock. Umesh Yadav’s extra pace has paid off again. KL Rahul on the other end still looks very solid.

  • 8:00 PM IST

    Mayank Agarwal and KL Rahul are in middle and Chris Woakes to open the bowling attack for the home team. What will be a competitive total at Bangalore ?

  • 7:36 PM IST

    KXIP (Playing XI): KL Rahul(w), Mayank Agarwal, Yuvraj Singh, Aaron Finch, Karun Nair, Marcus Stoinis, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin(c), Andrew Tye, Mohit Sharma, Mujeeb Ur Rahman

  • 7:36 PM IST

    RCB(Playing XI): Brendon McCullum, Quinton de Kock(w), Virat Kohli(c), AB de Villiers, Sarfaraz Khan, Mandeep Singh, Chris Woakes, Washington Sundar, Kulwant Khejroliya, Umesh Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal

  • 7:35 PM IST

    RCB opt to bowl first. Kohli doesn’t want to take any chances as only one team has won batting first. What is surprising is that Chris Gayle does not game a game. Finch comes in for MIller. RCB team stays the same.

  • 7:28 PM IST

    Both the teams are filled with power hitters. Bangalore have Ab de Villiers, Virat Kohli, Brendon McCullum while Chris Gayle might feature for Punjab today along with Aaron Finch, Yuvraj Singh. How many sixes do you think will rain in Bangalore today?

  • 7:26 PM IST

    Kings XI Punjab. likely XI

    Chris Gayle, KL Rahul, Aaron Finch, Yuvraj Singh, Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair, Marcus Stoinis, Akshar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin (c), Andrew Tye, Mohit Sharma.

  • 7:24 PM IST

    Royal Challengers Bangalore, likely XI

    Brendon McCullum, Virat Kohli (c), AB de Villiers, Sarfaraz Khan (wk), Mandeep Singh, Colin de Grandhomme, Chris Woakes, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Umesh Yadav, Kulwant Kejroliya.

Virat Kohli © AFP
Virat Kohli © AFP

Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of the VIVO IPL 2018. We head to the Match No.8 of the tournament with Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) taking on Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru. This will be RCB’s first match at home this season. Last season, they lost five games at home as they finished last in the tournament. They will hope for a turn around. Stay tuned in our blog for updates, interesting tweets and stat facts.

The big news is Chris Gayle is back to his second home, in Bengaluru but he will turn up in the other reds, i.e. for KXIP. In fact, Bengaluru fans will have plenty of local boys playing in the opposition camp. Karun Nair, KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal are all Bengaluru boys.

IPL 2018, Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kings XI Punjab, Match No. 8 at Bengaluru: Preview, Predictions and Teams' Likely 11s
IPL 2018, Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kings XI Punjab, Match No. 8 at Bengaluru: Preview, Predictions and Teams' Likely 11s

With the likes of Gayle, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Brendon McCullum, and Rahul in action. Expect a power-packed batting exhibition at the compact ground. It will be interesting to see how the pitch plays at Chinnaswamy. Renowned for aiding batsmen, the wicket here has slowed down considerably in the past year. The nature of the surface will make a massive difference to the game.

Head-to-head, KXIP have won 12 of their 20 games against RCB. Last year, KXIP emerged triumphant from both games. However, this is RCB’s territory and despite a defeat in the hands of Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in their first game, they start favourites.


Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (c), AB de Villiers, Sarfaraz Khan, Chris Woakes, Yuzvendra Singh Chahal, Umesh Yadav, Brendon McCullum, Washington Sundar, Navdeep Saini, Quinton De Kock (wk), Mohammed Siraj, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Colin De Grandhomme, M Ashwin, Parthiv Patel (wk), Moeen Ali, Mandeep Singh, Manan Vohra, Pawan Negi, Tim Southee, Kulwant Khejroliya, Aniket Choudhary, Pavan Deshpande, Anirudha Ashok Joshi.

Kings XI Punjab: Ravichandran Ashwin (c), Akshar Patel, KL Rahul (wk), Andrew Tye, Aaron Finch, Marcus Stoinis, Karun Nair, Mujeeb Zadran, Ankit Singh Rajpoot, David Miller, Mohit Sharma, Barinder Sran, Yuvraj Singh, Christopher Gayle, Ben Dwarshuis, Akshdeep Nath, Manoj Tiwary, Mayank Agarwal, Manzoor Dar, Pardeep Sahu, Mayank Dagar